Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Yummy! I traded 1 cup of the half-and-half for 1 cup of coconut milk. Then added 1/2 cup toasted coconut about half-way through freezing. I also melted 1 bar of Ghiradelli 98% coco with 1/2 cup of semi-sweet chips and slowly added that to the mix about 1/2 way through. Have to keep an eye on it so it doesn't clump, but OMG was it good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I used this recipe in my CuisineArt ice cream maker. Very good! So much better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Slaughter Holt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princess Anne, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seaford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
this ice cream was way to sour for me. i dont think that it doesnt need that much sour cream. but everyone else loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zobrogrl
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Generally I make a cooked egg custard base which, being a Wisconsinite and hooked on our frozen vanilla custard here, is my preference. But today I was looking for something simpler, easier and less time-consuming. This was it. The proportions of whipping cream to half-and-half are a little heavier on the half-and-half than my general preference (2 parts cream, 1 part half-and-half) but the difference here was marginal and might suit better those who prefer a less rich ice cream. Since I used this as a base for blueberry ice cream (3 cups blueberries macerated with 3/4 cup sugar and the juice of half a lemon, then pureed) I omitted the vanilla. However, if I was to use this recipe as is, I would still reduce the amount of vanilla somewhat. Even with the addition of the fruit, which often tends to lend some iciness to the ice cream’s texture, this was creamy and smooth. This is a rich and delicious ice cream, a worthy competitor to the cooked custard variety – I *almost* didn’t miss the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I boosted the servings up to 12 and made a maple-vanilla version of this by adding 3 Tb of maple syrup instead of one of the tablespoons of vanilla and two of the tablespoons of white sugar. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by panini goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Solsberry, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I used 2 cups heavy cream, 1 cup 2% milk, 1/2 cup sugar, 2 tsp vanilla, and a pinch salt. It came out light and delicious -- excellent texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is a GREAT basic vanilla ice cream recipe. If you have a stand mixer with the ice cream bowl attachment, it works WONDERS if you chill the ice cream mixture overnight. Comes out creamy and ready to serve! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I use a Cuisinart model ICE-21 which holds about a quart of mix so this recipe is just right for my machine. Rather than heat the half-and-half as some recipes suggest, I powder the sugar using my Vita-Mix. A regular blender will also work. The fine powdered sugar blends easily with the liquid. I normally powder the sugar, and add it to a quart mason jar. I add enough half-and-half to fill to the 2 cup level, shaking until well blended. Then I add the heavy cream to fill the jar. I can do this a day or If you want to try a real creamy treat, use all heavy cream. I know some try to use non-fat products, but I have never been one who considered ice cream to be a health food. It is something to enjoy occasionally, calories and fat be damned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spezzini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Fixed using all half and half. It tasted very sweet, so next time I might cut back on the sugar. A quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States