Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Super Easy! I almost did not miss the eggs. I do not know why the recipe said to refirgerate before making into ice cream- as it was not heated, I see no value in this step. If you heat ingredients, yes, frigerate to bring back to cold. I swap whole milk, 2 & 2/2 and heavy cream- whatever I have I use. With this kind of recipe- it comes out of frig. so what is the point? Taste it as it is freezing in your maker, if too vanilla for you, add more sugar, if not vanilla enough, add more of that. I always leave some space in the top of the maker to adjust. Sometimes I add more milk to soften the blow down of the fat taste. It will freeze with the reat of it and will churn nicely. Check it at 20 minutes- it will be well enough along to check the flavor and adjust. Even if you make this full size- no room for space, there will still be space in a Cusinart ice cream maker to add and adjust. For giggles I tried the vanilla pudding mix in it- mistake, made it grainy. If I had cooked the pudding and dissolved it, may have been ok. In general, I am not a fan of processed foods and this may be just me going YUCK, don't like the taste of mixes. I have a robotic pot mixer- NOT the cheap ones on TV, the expensive one by Arndt. If you get one of those, it is really helpful for making cooked custards as it will still continuously. thanks for all the posts and the recipe. Kristy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This is my go-to recipe for our handheld ice cream maker. When I had to give up dairy and missed having ice cream, I swapped the cream and half-and-half for chocolate soy milk and coconut or vanilla almond milk (decrease the sugar by 1/4 to 1/2 and omit vanilla). I definitely do NOT feel deprived eating this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novelist Lisa Logan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Great recipe. Loved the no cooking and ease of recipe. Had it for a bbq and everyone loved it. They said it was delicious and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Yummy! I traded 1 cup of the half-and-half for 1 cup of coconut milk. Then added 1/2 cup toasted coconut about half-way through freezing. I also melted 1 bar of Ghiradelli 98% coco with 1/2 cup of semi-sweet chips and slowly added that to the mix about 1/2 way through. Have to keep an eye on it so it doesn't clump, but OMG was it good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I used this recipe in my CuisineArt ice cream maker. Very good! So much better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Slaughter Holt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princess Anne, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seaford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
this ice cream was way to sour for me. i dont think that it doesnt need that much sour cream. but everyone else loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zobrogrl
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Generally I make a cooked egg custard base which, being a Wisconsinite and hooked on our frozen vanilla custard here, is my preference. But today I was looking for something simpler, easier and less time-consuming. This was it. The proportions of whipping cream to half-and-half are a little heavier on the half-and-half than my general preference (2 parts cream, 1 part half-and-half) but the difference here was marginal and might suit better those who prefer a less rich ice cream. Since I used this as a base for blueberry ice cream (3 cups blueberries macerated with 3/4 cup sugar and the juice of half a lemon, then pureed) I omitted the vanilla. However, if I was to use this recipe as is, I would still reduce the amount of vanilla somewhat. Even with the addition of the fruit, which often tends to lend some iciness to the ice cream’s texture, this was creamy and smooth. This is a rich and delicious ice cream, a worthy competitor to the cooked custard variety – I *almost* didn’t miss the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I boosted the servings up to 12 and made a maple-vanilla version of this by adding 3 Tb of maple syrup instead of one of the tablespoons of vanilla and two of the tablespoons of white sugar. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by panini goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Solsberry, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I used 2 cups heavy cream, 1 cup 2% milk, 1/2 cup sugar, 2 tsp vanilla, and a pinch salt. It came out light and delicious -- excellent texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is a GREAT basic vanilla ice cream recipe. If you have a stand mixer with the ice cream bowl attachment, it works WONDERS if you chill the ice cream mixture overnight. Comes out creamy and ready to serve! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States