Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
wAAAWWAaAAwAAWwWawawazaawAW.poopyutttxycxy that hv
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I changed this some and used brown sugar instead of white, 3 tbsp honey, and a smidgen of walnut flavoring in addition to the vanilla. Super amazing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
The first time I tried this recipe, I used milk instead of half and half, and half and half instead of heavy cream. The ice cream was delicious, even though I didn't use heavy cream. The second time, I used more half and half, and less milk (3:1 ratio) I also experimented with adding pureed peaches, skin and all, to make peach ice cream. The texture was perfect, and the flavor was sweet, but also slightly tart, as I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. I love the fact that it doesn't require eggs. I am going to try some other fruits, and even peanut butter. This is a great base for other flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan F. Hirsch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Good recipe. Seemed a bit sweet - might use less sugar next time. Definitely will make again. Might add chocolate chips or oreo bits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I doubled the recipe, used just under 2 cups of sugar total, and froze it in a stand mixer with some dry ice. If you haven't tried using it, do so ASAP. It had better consistency than any homemade ice cream I've ever tasted previously. Not only that, but if served immediately, the ice cream will be slightly carbonated, which sounds and IS weird, but is also incredible. This recipe is simple, can be customized endlessly to suit your needs, and will give you a good amount of ice cream. But seriously, you'll never want to use an ice cream maker again after trying dry ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I just bought a Cuisinart ice cream maker. This recipe is super easy. I cut down on the sugar to a little over 1/2 cup on my second try. If it is still sweet enough, I will reduce it to 1/2 cup. This is a great recipe if you don't want all the fuss of a long list of ingredients. Will add cocoa next time for chocolate ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This was dreamy and creamy and so easy. It is not too sweet and I did not notice that my lips were greasy. I'm sure it would be great to add peaches, strawberries, chocolate, chips or whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is the quickest, easiest ice cream recipe and the results are always delicious. While I personally prefer the richer, creamier taste of a custard-based ice cream, my husband and kids say this is the best ice cream they've ever tasted. I do change a couple of things -- first, I use maple syrup instead of sugar. Just whisk it into the cream and half and half and it is ready to go. Since the mixture is already cold (I store the maple syrup in the fridge too), I don't bother with refrigerating it but just pour it into my ice cream maker. The maple flavor is rich without being overpowering. I also use about a tsp of vanilla because the maple is the main flavor. So easy and a really great treat without all of the added ingredients, colorings, flavorings, etc. in store bought ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Very good! I added about 1 tsp more of vanilla extract. Creamy and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diedra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Turned out tasting exactly like coolwhip. Really good cool whip though. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States