Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is the quickest, easiest ice cream recipe and the results are always delicious. While I personally prefer the richer, creamier taste of a custard-based ice cream, my husband and kids say this is the best ice cream they've ever tasted. I do change a couple of things -- first, I use maple syrup instead of sugar. Just whisk it into the cream and half and half and it is ready to go. Since the mixture is already cold (I store the maple syrup in the fridge too), I don't bother with refrigerating it but just pour it into my ice cream maker. The maple flavor is rich without being overpowering. I also use about a tsp of vanilla because the maple is the main flavor. So easy and a really great treat without all of the added ingredients, colorings, flavorings, etc. in store bought ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Very good! I added about 1 tsp more of vanilla extract. Creamy and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diedra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Turned out tasting exactly like coolwhip. Really good cool whip though. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I have kids with nut allergies so we make ice cream a lot...this is a great tasting easy recipe...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jhermanson
Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
My family loves this. I've even added some cocoa to make chocolate and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This was our first time trying to make ice cream from scratch. Very easy and made enough for 1 gallon(16 servings)! I did powdered my sugar in the blender then added it with the 1/2 & 1/2. Mixed all the ingredients and put in the fridg till I was ready to put it in the ice cream maker. I froze my canister that goes in the wooden tub and it only took me 35 min to process. KEEPER for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I used half low fat milk and half whipping cream. the result was cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
quick and easy, I used an icecream mixer. Was ready in about an hour, softserve style. Thanks! Taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
It is easy and creamy, however it is not ice cream! It taste like frozen whip cream the recipe has been altered by many reviews so they must feel the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
it will be good on a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States