Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
We used 1/2 honey and 1/2 sugar. Did NOT like honey flavor. Also used 1 cup 1% milk instead of half and half. This was a fabulous smooth and creamy treat. Will definitely use again without the honey... Also whipped the sugar/honey in with the 1% milk to avoid making butter as suggested by other reviews. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
It's easy, but not very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Made it tonight! Reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and I can't imagine how it would taste if I had used the full amount. Perfect sweetness. Also substituted 1/2 cup of the whipping cream with whole milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Added chocolate chips and made ice-cream sandwiches with graham wafers. Best ice-cream treat I've had in a long time. The neighbourhood kids keep asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Lalonde

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I changed this some and used brown sugar instead of white, 3 tbsp honey, and a smidgen of walnut flavoring in addition to the vanilla. Super amazing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
The first time I tried this recipe, I used milk instead of half and half, and half and half instead of heavy cream. The ice cream was delicious, even though I didn't use heavy cream. The second time, I used more half and half, and less milk (3:1 ratio) I also experimented with adding pureed peaches, skin and all, to make peach ice cream. The texture was perfect, and the flavor was sweet, but also slightly tart, as I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. I love the fact that it doesn't require eggs. I am going to try some other fruits, and even peanut butter. This is a great base for other flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan F. Hirsch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Good recipe. Seemed a bit sweet - might use less sugar next time. Definitely will make again. Might add chocolate chips or oreo bits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I doubled the recipe, used just under 2 cups of sugar total, and froze it in a stand mixer with some dry ice. If you haven't tried using it, do so ASAP. It had better consistency than any homemade ice cream I've ever tasted previously. Not only that, but if served immediately, the ice cream will be slightly carbonated, which sounds and IS weird, but is also incredible. This recipe is simple, can be customized endlessly to suit your needs, and will give you a good amount of ice cream. But seriously, you'll never want to use an ice cream maker again after trying dry ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I just bought a Cuisinart ice cream maker. This recipe is super easy. I cut down on the sugar to a little over 1/2 cup on my second try. If it is still sweet enough, I will reduce it to 1/2 cup. This is a great recipe if you don't want all the fuss of a long list of ingredients. Will add cocoa next time for chocolate ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This was dreamy and creamy and so easy. It is not too sweet and I did not notice that my lips were greasy. I'm sure it would be great to add peaches, strawberries, chocolate, chips or whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States