Vanilla Honey Simple Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Excellent recipe. Of course you will have to adjust it to your liking like any other recipe. However I utilized the ingredients asked for and did as the recipe asked. The only thing I did that was DIFFERENT was not mix everything up once the honey and butter was done in the microwave melting. Instead I poured a little bit of the milk and vanilla (mixed up already) into the honey and butter. I did not feel the need to let it sit in the refrigerator. It was great this way. Of course I through some of the milk and vanilla mix away because I only wanted to use a little bit which kept it from being so watery. Such a lovely taste. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Oh my vanilla! The syrup was verrrry liquidy...I put it in the freezer to try and get it to congeal...it only helped a little. The biggest issue here is the amount of vanilla. I made 4 servings of this and my gut told me 2tbs & 2tsp of vanilla sounded absurd, but I did it anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Very good flavor. Just made for the first time. I am about to make pancakes, and know it will be great. It is very thin, not sure what to do about that, but it tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I made pancakes one morning and realized that we did not have any syrup. I looked this up & had all of the ingredients & it turned out great! We really enjoyed this. very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I did a test run on this syrup without having a reason to use it but I tasted delicious and I'll definitely whip them up the moment I'm in need of a syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Very good. Used coconut milk because I didn't have regular milk on hand. Used only one teaspoon of vanilla extract. Not very thick but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gonzales, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I upped this recipe to four servings. I used buttermilk instead of regular milk. That was the only change I made. We had this over Herman pancakes and it was so good--though it had a LOT of vanilla. Quadrupled, it was two tablespoons and two teaspoons of vanilla! I'd like to make this again cutting back a bit on the vanilla and with a touch of cinnamon. Very simple and a good fill in for when you're out of pancake syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
yum! the perfect light syrup with a delicious flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This had a very nice flavour. After chilling in the fridge for awhile, though, mine was still completely liquid, not syrup at all. I made it exactly as the recipe stated but perhaps I measured my butter incorrectly or something. No matter, even though it was liquid I put it on my oatmeal pancakes and it tasted great! UPDATE: I also recently made this to put on Strawberry Vanilla Pancakes from this site and that was a great flavour combo! Was still very liquidy again, but not a big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This is not the typical syrup but I really did like it. I put it on buttermilk pancakes and found it to be a light, pleasing taste. I did use 1 teaspoon of vanilla becuae 2 seemed too much. I could always add more I decided. For me 2 would have been too much. Do try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Syrup

A must-have sweetener. It’s not called “simple” for nothing.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Honey Mustard Dressing II

This dressing is great for salads and for dipping veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States