Vanilla Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
A total MUST to increase milk to tablespoons from teaspoons otherwise, I wouldn't change a thing. This one ROCKED! It turned out perfect, was soooo simple and fool proof. Works great to spread, pipe or pour. I made this one 7 seperate times before writing review and all were perfect. The taste was right on, it poured over my bundt cakes beautifully and hardened enough to cover within 20 minutes.(cool your cake completely beforehand). The other batches were made for decorating cookies and they too were perfect each time. One batch is more than enough to lightly spread and generously pipe 2 dozen average sized cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
392 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
In all fairness, I have to say that this review is really for the glaze using a number of other reviewers' suggestions and modifications. It seems very few people prepared this recipe as written and those who did were not happy with it. Mixing up this glaze with the suggestions to use 1 T. each of butter and corn syrup, and enough milk to desired consistency, this was simply perfect--shiny and white, just what I was after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This is a good base for a vanilla glaze. As the others have said it needs more milk. I really think that there is a typo when it comes to the milk, it should be tablespoon rather than teaspoon. The corn syrup is a nice extra if you want it to set nice but it does make it a little too sweet (I love sweet things) I would decrease the sugar to 1 1/4 cup if 1 tbl of corn syrup is added. It really needed extra vanilla. I used 1/2 tsp but I would even double that. It really did need at least 1 tbl of butter. I would add more. If you do decrease the powdered sugar take it easy on the milk and add as you go, you can always add more later but there is no way to fix a soupy mess unless you want pure sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRINCESSKAROLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
Excellent! Will use this time and time again for my loaves, pound and bundt cakes. One word of advice though. Ensure the cake is very cool before the glaze is drizzled on. The first time i made it, it melted off somewhat. I guess i was to impatient and just wanted to eat the cake. I learned my lesson though and it really does turn out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Picture perfect glaze! I used this after the modifications of 1 Tbsp. of butter and 1 Tbsp. of corn syrup. I used this over Country Cinnamon Swirl Bread and will definitely use this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Like a few reviews before me, I found the glaze a too thick- albeit pretty- when I added the minimal amount of milk. After switching it to tablespoons, it turned out a nice glaze consistency. I also added a teaspoon of cinnamon and poured it over a pumpkin spice bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
This is good base recipe but does need some tweaking. I followed ATCGIRLY's advice and added 1 tbsp corn syrup and 1 tbsp butter as well as increasing the milk. It turned out quite nice after that but I think I still may have to add more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Just what I was looking for!!! I used this to drizzle over bread pudding and it turned out perfectly! I do agree with others who say the amount of milk called for is inadequate. I simply just added as much milk as I needed to get the consistency I was looking for. This glaze is great because you can easily add or reduce however much milk to your preference. It's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lonnarific
Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
You can't go wrong with this glaze, I used it on top of a fresh baked cinnamon raisin bread....it was perfect! You can make it as thin (like a drizzle) or thick as you'd like by adding in more or less confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Very good and easy to make. Add milk in small amounts until the consistency is as you like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States