Vanilla Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Has a lot of the powder suger taste, of which I don't care for. My Mom used to make one where it was sweeter and stayed softer didn't harden so much. I am going to try again with more butter. I did use more milk as I wanted it to drizzle and it was more of a frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA
Living In: Pahrump, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Great glaze, I added about an extra tsp of milk because of reading others reviews but I still wanted mine pretty thick and it turned out wonderfully, it tastes great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeachNut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Definitely needed more milk... but other than that this is a good recipe. You can play around with the ingredients to make it more or less sweet and thick or thin. I also added cinnamon to mine and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I found this glaze to be much too thick as written. I changed the tspn of milk to Tblspn, and it was still a bit thick. Then I added too much milk and it was a little thin. However, it tasted very good and it did its job as a glaze for a lemon pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made this for my blueberry pound cake and it turned out great. I didn't add the salt or measure the ingredients. I just played around till I got the right consistancy and used water in place of the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I am a beginner and as written, it created a hard shell on my bunt cake. Very disappointed. Follow the advice of others I guess...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This was a very simple glaze for my cake. I would have liked it a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Gtz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
There is not enough moisture in this recipe to amount to anything. You end up with a bowl of powder sugar. You need to add more water and butter to get it to a glaze stage - even a somewhat frosting stage. It isn't the best tasting stuff either. Gritty and very sweet with no vanilla taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I actually give the modified version of this recipe 5 stars. All of the reviews say to use 1 Tbsp. butter and 1 Tbsp. corn syrup, so that's what I did. I also doubled the vanilla. It was perfect to spread on the "Big Soft Ginger Cookies" recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I just used 1 cup of p-sugar, accidentally used 1 TBL butter and 3 tsp milk with 1 tsp water. It came out to the perfect consistency for mybundt cake! Yummy and easy to whip up. Plus, all natural ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States