Vanilla Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This was a very simple glaze for my cake. I would have liked it a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Gtz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
There is not enough moisture in this recipe to amount to anything. You end up with a bowl of powder sugar. You need to add more water and butter to get it to a glaze stage - even a somewhat frosting stage. It isn't the best tasting stuff either. Gritty and very sweet with no vanilla taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I actually give the modified version of this recipe 5 stars. All of the reviews say to use 1 Tbsp. butter and 1 Tbsp. corn syrup, so that's what I did. I also doubled the vanilla. It was perfect to spread on the "Big Soft Ginger Cookies" recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I just used 1 cup of p-sugar, accidentally used 1 TBL butter and 3 tsp milk with 1 tsp water. It came out to the perfect consistency for mybundt cake! Yummy and easy to whip up. Plus, all natural ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by renstone
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Great, easy recipe. It had a lovely taste to it and you can make it as thin or as thick as you like by altering the amount of milk you use. I was going for a glaze that just sort of drizzled over the bread I made so I added additional milk. Worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renstone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Half of this glaze was perfect for an 8x8 pan. After reading so many reviews, I used the modifications of 1 Tbsp. of butter and 1 Tbsp. of corn syrup. The corn syrup, while sweet, helped to set a real nice glaze. Therefore, I reduced the amount of confectioner’s sugar to about 1 cup adding a little at a time so it would not be too runny and overly sweet. I also incorporated 1T of milk until I got the desired consistency I was looking for. I felt the need to increase the vanilla by ½ tsp. I used this to drizzle over, “Apple Squares,” also from this site. It was simply perfect; a shiny and white “snowy” glaze, just what I wanted. It tasted creamy and not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
So Easy! I followed the suggestions of others for milk and it was perfect. It tastes like the icing on the store bought cinnamon rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
2 1/2 TABLESPOON of MILK (and 1 tablespoon butter) make this the perfect glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parker's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Tastes good, but my results weren't like those in the photos! I did make a half recipe, and changed the milk to tablespoons instead of teaspoons. How does it get so white? Mine was translucent. Is more milk, or the addition of corn syrup (some reviews mention this) necessary for white colour? Will try the recommended modifications the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
very light, and delicious. used it on a devils food bundt cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States