Vanilla Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Jess Hoffmann McNeill
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This was perfect. I liked the consistency. I increased the milk to tablespoons and it was needed. Will make this again. Put it on top of the "Too Much Chocolate Cake" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Hoffmann McNeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
After reading many reviews, I made this adding a tablespoon of milk and one of corn syrup. I noticed after making it that I melted my butter on low and mixed in the other ingredients and kept it on low mixing it for 2-3 minutes. The recipe didn't mention to heat it but it turned out great. I poured it hot over a recipe from this site : Kalacs (Hungarian Cinnamon Swirl Bread)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
i only used milk and confectioners sugar the first time i made this. i like it simple so i can add it to a bunch of different desserts. i usually do 2 c. suger and 2 T milk, i have added a touch of vanilla extract to it a couple times but i do like it with just the milk and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Good taste and hardens great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
sorry but this recipe as it stands is not good. it needs more vanilla and a LOT more milk! I couldn't even get a hard paste with that amount of milk, the sugar was still powdery in a weird moist way. maybe a typo problem. I doubled the vanilla and added about 6 and half tablespoons of milk instead of the stated 2 and half teaspoons. Once I did that the recipe is good provided you completely cool the cake before frosting it. I used this on the simple white cake recipe from this website and let it sit until it hardened. next time I think I might add just a little more vanilla and perhaps one or two drops of lemon extract just to give it a little kick without having an obvious lemony flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
My thanks to Jamie for submitting this. Have used this recipe twice now - excellent results both time just add more milk as others have noted, otherwise I would have rated it 5. My changes: I used buttermilk only because it was all I had and it was even better than when I used regular milk! I used amaretto and almond extract instead of vanilla as I made this to drizzle on an almond bundt cake. This is a reliable recipe that could be used for cookies as well - just play with the milk and sugar quantities until you have the consistency you need. Lastly, if using this to drizzle on a cake, my suggestion would be to double the recipe. One batch wasn’t enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Levin-Kell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I had to use a bit more milk, and added a bit of flavored creamer, but otherwise fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Very good and easy to work with, although you do need to change the teaspoons to tablespoons for the milk. I also slightly increased the vanilla for my own personal taste preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I have a ball in my bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sta Strittmatter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States