Vanilla Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
As it is written, the recipe does not work and should be removed or corrected. I wish I had taken a photo of the bowl to show the consistency with only 2 1/2 teaspoons of milk. Alas, I was in a hurry and didn't read the reviews correcting this error. I did add more milk, but added too much and the glaze was too runny. So, this review is based on the recipe as it is originally written here. But, with correcting the amount of milk to 2 1/2 tablespoons, it would be 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Just made this and used it on bite size apple pies. Delicious! It's creamy and smooth with a flavor that can be used on so many things. I used half and half instead of milk and loved the results. As with any glaze, you add liquid to achieve the thin/thickness you desire. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I omitted the salt and it tastes a little bit better, but not much.it tastes alright if you put it on a chocolate cake and add coconut flakes on top. but still not wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Excellent. And so simple. I use this on blueberry turnovers. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grave Flower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunlap, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I took the suggestion of some other people and added 3 tablespoons of milk instead of 2.5 teaspoons, and it turned ot great! So tasty. I used it on top of Lemon Bars instead of plain powdered sugar and they were awesome. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Niagara, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Used on a chocolate bundt that wasn't that sweet so this was just the right amount of sweetness to balance it. Used a tablespoon of butter & corn syrup as others have suggested. Would definitely make this a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Daisy Mae
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I made this glaze but added some cocoa powder to it...wow! Used it on top of double choclate brownie cake----and could not stop licking the icing bowl.... :o) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
this was very good! I did add a lot more milk, probably 3 or 4 tbsp. extra, because I put them on top of scones. It is very easy to make and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
2 and a half teaspoons milk...what a laugh. It barely even wet the confectioners sugar. your going to half to add at least two more, but be careful its really easy to add to much. (I did that the first time and it all ended up on the plate and not my cake.) Add one teaspoon at a time and whisk until its all one big sugar glob and then just dribble it in a drop or two at a time. (yes just a little at a time) When the edges of the sugar glob start to get runny and break away your probably have enough just whisk, whisk, whisk, until its all smooth. The best consistency will take about a minute to settle and then another minute to gently run down the sides of your cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Grace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
perfect! nice and thick, used on my Orange Crush bundt cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 61-70 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States