Vanilla Cupcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Shorts
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
First off, this is bland without frosting. Anyway, it was easy enough to make, but make sure to add 1 tsp of vanilla extract, 1/2 tsp of baking powder (if you use regular flour instead of self-rising flour) and some milk. I also topped it with Nutella. With that, they rise well and have a great moist consistency, as well as a pretty good taste! The most important thing is: do your homework on this recipe and read other reviews before making it. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I was looking for a vanilla cupcake recipe after my dad challenged me by saying that I couldn't make cupcakes if I tried. I was looking to impress him (obviously) so I looked for one that had great reviews. But after all, he was trying to cut down on his cholesterol, and there is WAY too much butter in this recipe. When I added the icing after they were done it was a lot better, but I still think that I will look for another cupcake recipe to prove him wrong about my baking skills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
If I could give this recipe a 0 I would! I followed everything as said and even triple checked. They come out so gross, my family wouldn't even touch them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I made them for my little brother and I was shocked. He is only 3 and he spat them out after taking a bite. I took a bite, and they were rock hard, I did exactly what you wrote and I got very upset. If i could, I would give it zero stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Followed instructions exactly and it came out very dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Made these today with some lemon buttercream icing to the letter, cupcakes turned out more like muffins with how dense they are. Not exactly the cupcake lightness I was expecting, and a dry batter should have been my first clue as well. Won't use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Simple Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
These were great! They were simple to make and sweet but not too sweet, over all a great recipe for quick and easy sweet. I did however add a tsp. of baking powder for fluffiness and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I just wanted to say that i tried them and they didnt turn out really great, so i frosted them with some fondant, so it was kinda edible. Nooffence!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Having made several cakes from scratch, I modified this recipe to fit my needs. Added in a touch of oil when it was too dry, some cocoa powder and Hershey's chocolate sauce to get the brownie taste, and popped them in the oven for brownie-cakes for my daughter's birthday. If it's too dry, add liquid, guys. Cooking is not an exact science, but it's a common sense one. Enjoy your treats and your days, I hope, and be blessed! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

How to Make a Volcano Cake

See how to make volcano cake complete with “molten lava.”

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States