Vanilla Crispies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Mysteriously alluring. I sell them at markets and for no apparent reason different customers just home in on them among the more than a dozen varieties I offer. What is driving me crazy though is why they sometimes turn out puffy like in the photo but most times flat (my daughter calls those epic space cookies). I've tried everything from varying the temperature to using different grades of flour, from triple-chilling and freezing to shaping the dough into little towers. The things have a mind of their own and do the opposite of how I want them to turn out. Guess I just gave myself a plausible answer but I'd be interested in a more scientific solution! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Makes excellent small cookies if you use a small scoop to prepare instead of making balls of dough. I did not refrigerate the dough either. Just scooped onto cookie sheet. Not an extremely crisp cookie, but has excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Very easy to make and delicious. Mine came out nice & crispy (think it's the cream of tarter that does the trick). If you make it a bit thinner it will be crispier but then just be careful that they dont break when you lift them from the baking tray. They do tend to spread a lot so leave enough space between cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
These cookies have a wonderful vanilla flavor. I rolled them into balls and they flattened themselves. They made a very nice, soft cookie. I will definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Smash cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Very tasty cookies. Followed the recipe very sticky, had to add about 1/2 cup more flour. Didn't cook in 8 to 10 minutes but much longer. Not crispy. Won't make these again. I'll stick to my chocolate chip cookies which never fail
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Ione, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
These cookies are yummy! Had all ingredients except for the cream of tartar. Cookies did spread and are still soft after one day. Oh and I refrigerated the cookie dough for almost two hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by doc2813
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Must have tried 2 dozen recipes looking for a tasty, simple sugar cookie. This is the best yet. Dough was a little sticky so I just dropped them and pressed down with floured fingers and added a little colored sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doc2813

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bulls Gap, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I made these because some of the reviews stated they are like Nilla wafers. I do not believe this to be the case. I made one inch balls and pressed them flat. They spread quite a bit, but not to a point where they were crisp in the middle. Perhaps I should have left them in the oven longer? They were golden brown around the edges when I took them out. All this being said, they are great sugar cookies! I used "Vanilla Bean Crush" vanilla from King Arthur Flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I made these cookies and I only used 3/4 cup sugar. They tasted like chocolate chip cookies but without the chips. I think they are super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States