Vanilla Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Really good recipe, the texture and flavor is perfect! Made mine by mixing everything in the blender and let sit for about 5-10 minutes before preparing. In the meantime made fillings. One caramelized banana with brown sugar and cinnamon and the other with canned guavas. Served also with vanilla ice cream. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odessyboina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
With a few changes, these were AWESOME! I cut back the butter to 3.5 tbls and vanilla to 1 tabls...I added roughly 2.5 cups of milk (as needed) and I used light brown sugar as opposed to white... I threw everything into a blender, and then strained the batter for lumps....I refrigerated it for a few hours, and it was perfect! I stuffed mine with fresh blueberries and marscapone, and topped with homemade blueberry compote....YUM!! I also did a savory version of these for lunch....I omitted the vanilla, cut the sugar back to 1 tbls, stuffed with ham and sharp cheddar and topped with a dijon mayo sauce....mmmmmmm....super easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Very good, sifted flour and sugar after I measured them, but otherwise didn't change a thing and they were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
What a great story! Great crepes too! Thanks..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I made the recipe just as it is -- after the first few crepes I did add a bit more milk to thin the batter just a little. For filling ~ mmmm so many choices. I had apples on hand so I diced 6 apples, put them in a skillet with 3 TBSP butter, cinnamon, sugar and a bit of brown sugar and 1/8 cup water cooked until tender. In a small bowl, I mixed 8 oz cream cheese, 1 cup pwd sugar, 1/2 tsp vanilla. I also had some chopped pecans that I had toasted with some brown sugar (left over topping from grape salad). I put a generous smear of cream cheese mixture, a generous scoop of cooked apples and sprinkled with the toasted pecan mixture. My kids who don't normally like crepes said they were the best crepe shells they ever had and raved about the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This recipe was very good. I used 2 egg whites, and one whole egg, 2 cups of milk, and a teaspoon of cornstarch. The texture and flavor was pleasing. I also used Martha Stewart's chocolate ganache recipe as a drizzle with strawberries and whipped cream. Super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natlee Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
First time making crepes....and followed the recipe exactly. Turned out delicious. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
After making the first two crepes, I thought the batter was a little too "cakey" so I added one more egg yolk and a little more milk. This made just the right difference in the consistency of the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Great recipe. I enjoyed filling them with berries and topping them with fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
These are perfect!! Try them with Nutella and bananas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 541) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Crepes

These crepes are light and delicious, and fillings can be sweet or savory.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States