Vanilla Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Perfect! I make this every weekend! I use 3 whole eggs. Tips: Sift your flour or use a sieve when the batter is done. This will take out the flour chunks for a smoother consistency. Also measure the flour by using a spoon to pour it into the cup. If you scoop a measuring cup, it packs the flour and you get a doughy crepe. Find the right temp! When you first pour the batter, it shouldn't wrinkle too much when spreading, or your pan is too hot. No dalmation spotted crepes! Technique! Pour your batter on a very lightly greased pan (short spray of Pam is fine) You know you're ready to flip it when the edges begin to curl, the middle batter isn't glossy and wet looking, and you can shake the pan to move the crepe. Use a large thin spatula, flip, and cook another 15 seconds. Pick up the pan and slide the crepe onto a plate. When you're ready to make another crepe, don't set your pan on the burner for more than a few seconds, or it gets too hot. 1/3 c. for a 9" skillet is perfect. I serve mine with strawberry compote and cottage cheese. Yum! LOW FAT: You can sub the butter for margarine, the sugar for a zero calorie sweetener (Truvia or Splenda taste best), and even replace yolks with egg whites or Egg Beaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1308 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RyanMichelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
REALLY good. That is a direct quote from my kids. My 2 cents-- I threw all my ingredients into the blender and poured from there... much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
530 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESCLAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Well, I took the advice of others right off the bat. I added a little more milk and less butter and vanilla. They turned out perfectly. I might try creaming the egg yolks next time to see if I like that texture better. We made some awsome cream cheese filling for them. 8 oz cream cheese, 1 cup of powdered sugar, 4 tbs butter, and 1 tbs hazelnut syrup. Some pecans added to the crepes with this filling give it a good texture and a little bit nuttier flavor. Best crepes I've ever had with the small changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
422 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This recipe was delicious and sooo easy! I have never had success with crepes like I did with this recipe. They do smell heavenly when they are cooking up. My 4 year old and 6 year old ate four each, not to mention my husband. They kept raving about breakfast hours after we were finished. I used the filling suggested in the basic crepes recipe by TRISTIA (fry up some chopped apples with 1 T. butter, 1 T. pwd sugar, dash of nutmeg and cinnamon until tender). They were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikki Filippone
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
My boyfriend and his sister thought these were absolutely perfect. I used a variation of a recipe that another reviewer posted for the filling (8 oz cream cheese, 1 cup of powdered sugar, 4 tbsp butter, 1 tbsp dark corn syrup, and 1/2 tsp vanilla). I also used the method posted by the first reviewer, they could not have turned out more perfectly. This recipe gets 5 stars hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Filippone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I just loved this recipe. It was so simple and delicious. The only change I owould make is that I found the batter just a bit thick so I added about 2-3 tablespoons more milk. I will definantly make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I tell you what, I lived in Germany for 6 years and have become a 'crepe specialist';) I could not have told you the difference between these crepes and the ones I ate fresh out of the stands in Frankfurt. I used Nutella as the filling on the inside..heaven! Thanks so much for this recipe! Brings back fantastic memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kodiano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Excellent! Per Suggestions, Upped the milk to almost 1 3/4 cup, 3 whole eggs. Shorted the vanilla by 1/2 tbs. 3 tbs POWDERED sugar, and four tbs melted butter. Tossed in a pinch of nutmeg. From "OVERNIGHT BLUEBERRY FRENCH TOAST" recipe on here, I whipped up the blueberry syrup (1 cp sugar, 2 tbs corn starch, 1 cp water, 1 cp blueberries, 1 tbs butter), which was the perfect topping (Don't fill crepes with this though - far too sweet - just a drizzle on top is PERFECT!) Yup, be makin' this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
These are the greasiest crepes I have ever tasted!!! Next time I think that I'll try 1 Tbls of butter instead of five. Had to pat each one of them with paper towels to make them less greasy than the bacon I cooked. Definitely 2 cups of milk. The vanilla was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Didn't have a problem with greasiness in our house; strange. We did add the additional half cup of milk to make this more pourable, and the crepes were universally loved by our three boys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVPLAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Polson, Montana, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Crepes

These crepes are light and delicious, and fillings can be sweet or savory.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States