Vanilla Cherry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Very cool, creamy, and easy to make. I used half-and-half and heavy cream. I had 1 lbs of fresh bing sweet cherries, pitted, half of it rough chopped, the other, sliced in halves. After reading others review I omitted the almond extract. I used 1 vanilla bean, spilt lenghwise. TIP: Please use vanilla beans if you can! They make such a difference! Once combined, I chilled everything before making the ice cream, about 4 hours or so. Took 30 minutes to make in the ice cream maker and it was so creamy, rich and smooth which is perfect on a hot day. I loved the frozen cherries I bit into. I am glad I left out the almond extract. This turned out fantastic. I just kept on eating and eating. I would definitely make this again, but without the almond extract and using real vanilla bean! UPDATE 08/12/11: Made this again but with 2 cups of Maraschino Cherries. I rough chopped some and halved the others. So super delicious! Sweet, juicy and "candy" like cherries swirled in vanilla ice cream. My family ate this entire recipe up in one night! Going to make this again. *note-if you decide to try it this way, know that the red maraschino juice will turn the milk/cream mixture a pinkish red color. Also used, "Sweetened Whipped Cream," from this site, to top it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Loved this!!! I love the hint of almond. I used marachino cherries (two small jars) instead of fresh cherries.....it was the bes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I am a picky ice cream maker and this recipe is very good recipe! The only change I made was instead of using fresh cherries, I used frozen sweet cherries, cut them into quarters and I also added mini chocolate chips!! I used 2 c. heavy cream and 1 c. whole milk along with the vanilla and almond extract. (remember my grandma using whole milk) Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This hasn't even finished freezing yet and I love it! Super yummy- tasted it right out of the ice cream maker. Doubled the recipe, cut the almond extract in half, used frozen pitted cherries from Costco - HEAVEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
really good recipe... i have been making ice creams for a while and this is a great non-cook base to build other recipe ideas on. many other comments said too much almond extract, i left the almond alone and changed the sugar to just under 2/3. i waited until the last 5 minutes of freezing time to add the cherry pieces, which were finely chopped. i also added grated dark chocolate and slivers of almond nuts to make it a cherry almond ice cream... really big hit with my dinner party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Too easy! I did reduce almond extract to 1/2 tsp which I think was the perfect amount. It did taste a bit like flavored cool whip though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Loved the taste, but the cherry pieces were too big. I only halved the cherries, but next time, I will chop them more finely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Maraschino cherries are packed in a syrup with almond extract. Smell some bitter almond or almond extract. It smells like maraschinos. The recipe calls for fresh cherries, so adding almond extract would be correct. 1 teaspoon may be too much. Many recipes must be experimented with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Very yummy and refreshing! Will keep this one in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Like many other members, I omitted the almond extract. I like a lot of flavor in my ice cream, so I pureed an additional cup of cherries and added that to the other ingredients. I also shaved a piece of semi-sweet bakers chocolate, and that was great. This is an awesome recipe I'll be using again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States