Vanilla Cherry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
The ice cream is quite good, but a little too heavy on the almond flavoring - it is VERY evident. Were I to make this again, I would reduce the almond extract by half or eliminate it altogether. After all, this is called Vanilla Cherry Ice Cream, not Almond Cherry Ice Cream. I like my ice cream rich, so as I always do I used 2 c. heavy cream, 1 c. half and half, and added two eggs. Beat the eggs for 1-2 minutes, gradually add the sugar, beat another minute to dissolve the sugar, then add cream, half and half and flavoring. I used frozen Door County cherries, which I thawed, quartered, and added during the last few minutes of churning. Rich, velvety smooth mouth feel and intensely cherry. Definitely worth a repeat, but definitely with reducing the amount of almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Cutting cherries in quarters would be my only suggestion for improving this recipe. If you just cut them in half, they are a little too large and like hard balls when frozen. They are much more manageable in quarters. Otherwise I really loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haacktastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Very cool, creamy, and easy to make. I used half-and-half and heavy cream. I had 1 lbs of fresh bing sweet cherries, pitted, half of it rough chopped, the other, sliced in halves. After reading others review I omitted the almond extract. I used 1 vanilla bean, spilt lenghwise. TIP: Please use vanilla beans if you can! They make such a difference! Once combined, I chilled everything before making the ice cream, about 4 hours or so. Took 30 minutes to make in the ice cream maker and it was so creamy, rich and smooth which is perfect on a hot day. I loved the frozen cherries I bit into. I am glad I left out the almond extract. This turned out fantastic. I just kept on eating and eating. I would definitely make this again, but without the almond extract and using real vanilla bean! UPDATE 08/12/11: Made this again but with 2 cups of Maraschino Cherries. I rough chopped some and halved the others. So super delicious! Sweet, juicy and "candy" like cherries swirled in vanilla ice cream. My family ate this entire recipe up in one night! Going to make this again. *note-if you decide to try it this way, know that the red maraschino juice will turn the milk/cream mixture a pinkish red color. Also used, "Sweetened Whipped Cream," from this site, to top it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
OMG! This is soooo good! I doubled the recipe and I used some pitted frozen cherries (quartered)from grandma's tree. I used half the cream and the other half was fat free half and half, and I used fat free milk because that is all I had and it is so amazing! Blew away the peach ice cream we had a couple weeks ago! Super easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
This is the best ice cream I have ever had! The only thing I did different was add some vanilla bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
OMG this is the best ice cream ive ever tasted. I usually am a sucker for the black cherry Ice cream so i decided to try this one, very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I used a jar of drained marchino cherries and it was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Loved this!!! I love the hint of almond. I used marachino cherries (two small jars) instead of fresh cherries.....it was the bes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This was so good, I did cut the almond extrct in half. We didn't miss it. The only problem with this recipe is cutting and pitting fresh cherries. But oh so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This was my first attempt at making ice cream at home and it is excellent! I cut the cherries smaller than the recipe called for and served each dish with several of the halved cherries on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States