Vanilla Cherry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I loved the almond flavoring. This ice cream was very good...I only used 1 and 1/2 cups of cherries and thought even that was a little heavy handed when all was frozen up. I did add a 1/4 cup of tart cherry juice concentrate and 2 dark chocolate bars that I diced up. Yum! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
made this yesterday, was very good...i did use the almond extract and we liked it...next time we make this i will cut the cherries in quarters and rough cut some of them...it was really refreshing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Delicious and so simple! I used fresh Rainier and Bing cherries and followed the recipe exactly as written. The almond flavoring sets it apart from just plain vanilla ice cream. I like that there's no eggs and no cooking involved. Took me 10 min to put together. I'm making this for our 4th of July gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinziaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Followed the directions to a t, except coarse sugar instead of granulated sugar. Pretty yummy, but some would find it overly sweet. Definitely would make this again, considering it was so easy. No eggs, so didn't have to cook the custard! NOTE: This happened to make a tad bit too much for my ice cream maker. Maybe cut back on a tiny bit of sugar or cherries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Love the undertone of the almond, just make sure you are conservative with it as a little goes a long way. I scaled down the recipe because we don't like to eat a lot of this, it is nice for a different flavor once in a while. You could serve this with chocolate, whipped cream or crushed graham crackers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
The ice cream turned out however tasted too much like whipped cream and not vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Love this recipe. My version is as follows: Substitute half and half for the milk... Use Maraschino cherries, quartered... Add 1/2 cup toasted almonds... Add 1/8 cup of Maraschino cherry juice... Add vanilla beans from one vanilla bean... Cut the almond extract in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Great recipe! I tried it with frozen cherries cut into quarters, but next time I'd use fresh cherries or maraschino cherries. The frozen ones were a little too "frozen tasting". I really liked the almond extract in this. Gave the flavor a little more depth, but didn't overpower. I also finely chopped a bar of milk chocolate, as well. That added a nice dimension, and a little bit of sweet. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I doubled the recipe except for the almond flavoring, I left at 1 tsp. Reducing it was perfect, and get it a lovely taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Very cool, creamy, and easy to make. I used half-and-half and heavy cream. I had 1 lbs of fresh bing sweet cherries, pitted, half of it rough chopped, the other, sliced in halves. After reading others review I omitted the almond extract. I used 1 vanilla bean, spilt lenghwise. TIP: Please use vanilla beans if you can! They make such a difference! Once combined, I chilled everything before making the ice cream, about 4 hours or so. Took 30 minutes to make in the ice cream maker and it was so creamy, rich and smooth which is perfect on a hot day. I loved the frozen cherries I bit into. I am glad I left out the almond extract. This turned out fantastic. I just kept on eating and eating. I would definitely make this again, but without the almond extract and using real vanilla bean! UPDATE 08/12/11: Made this again but with 2 cups of Maraschino Cherries. I rough chopped some and halved the others. So super delicious! Sweet, juicy and "candy" like cherries swirled in vanilla ice cream. My family ate this entire recipe up in one night! Going to make this again. *note-if you decide to try it this way, know that the red maraschino juice will turn the milk/cream mixture a pinkish red color. Also used, "Sweetened Whipped Cream," from this site, to top it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States