Vanilla Cherry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Love the undertone of the almond, just make sure you are conservative with it as a little goes a long way. I scaled down the recipe because we don't like to eat a lot of this, it is nice for a different flavor once in a while. You could serve this with chocolate, whipped cream or crushed graham crackers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
The ice cream turned out however tasted too much like whipped cream and not vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Love this recipe. My version is as follows: Substitute half and half for the milk... Use Maraschino cherries, quartered... Add 1/2 cup toasted almonds... Add 1/8 cup of Maraschino cherry juice... Add vanilla beans from one vanilla bean... Cut the almond extract in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Great recipe! I tried it with frozen cherries cut into quarters, but next time I'd use fresh cherries or maraschino cherries. The frozen ones were a little too "frozen tasting". I really liked the almond extract in this. Gave the flavor a little more depth, but didn't overpower. I also finely chopped a bar of milk chocolate, as well. That added a nice dimension, and a little bit of sweet. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I doubled the recipe except for the almond flavoring, I left at 1 tsp. Reducing it was perfect, and get it a lovely taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Very cool, creamy, and easy to make. I used half-and-half and heavy cream. I had 1 lbs of fresh bing sweet cherries, pitted, half of it rough chopped, the other, sliced in halves. After reading others review I omitted the almond extract. I used 1 vanilla bean, spilt lenghwise. TIP: Please use vanilla beans if you can! They make such a difference! Once combined, I chilled everything before making the ice cream, about 4 hours or so. Took 30 minutes to make in the ice cream maker and it was so creamy, rich and smooth which is perfect on a hot day. I loved the frozen cherries I bit into. I am glad I left out the almond extract. This turned out fantastic. I just kept on eating and eating. I would definitely make this again, but without the almond extract and using real vanilla bean! UPDATE 08/12/11: Made this again but with 2 cups of Maraschino Cherries. I rough chopped some and halved the others. So super delicious! Sweet, juicy and "candy" like cherries swirled in vanilla ice cream. My family ate this entire recipe up in one night! Going to make this again. *note-if you decide to try it this way, know that the red maraschino juice will turn the milk/cream mixture a pinkish red color. Also used, "Sweetened Whipped Cream," from this site, to top it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Loved this!!! I love the hint of almond. I used marachino cherries (two small jars) instead of fresh cherries.....it was the bes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I am a picky ice cream maker and this recipe is very good recipe! The only change I made was instead of using fresh cherries, I used frozen sweet cherries, cut them into quarters and I also added mini chocolate chips!! I used 2 c. heavy cream and 1 c. whole milk along with the vanilla and almond extract. (remember my grandma using whole milk) Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This hasn't even finished freezing yet and I love it! Super yummy- tasted it right out of the ice cream maker. Doubled the recipe, cut the almond extract in half, used frozen pitted cherries from Costco - HEAVEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
really good recipe... i have been making ice creams for a while and this is a great non-cook base to build other recipe ideas on. many other comments said too much almond extract, i left the almond alone and changed the sugar to just under 2/3. i waited until the last 5 minutes of freezing time to add the cherry pieces, which were finely chopped. i also added grated dark chocolate and slivers of almond nuts to make it a cherry almond ice cream... really big hit with my dinner party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States