Vanilla Cherry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Pretty good. I made the recipe exactly and have to agree with others that there isn't much vanilla flavor in the final product; you taste cherry/almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I am only new to making ice cream and I have had some epic fails with my experimentation (i.e too eggy, too icy, too hard to do). This is the best recipe base by far. It is quick and easy and I can just add whatever I want. I have reduced the sugar to 1/2 a cup (especially when adding cherries in syrup or a dessert sauce) and omitted the almond extract and it is still awesome. 1/2 cows milk and half almond milk was good too. I also agree to chop the cherries smaller if that is what you want to mix in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I used 1 teaspoon of vanilla and a hlf cup of sugar, no almond extract. I chopped up the cherries in a mini chopper. yum1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Costello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
The basic aspect of this recipe is great. It is straight up simple and quick and makes an ice cream that's not too rich and not too sweet. To my mind though, to make it truly "vanilla cherry", it needs only a tiny drop of almond extract, and the cherries should be added in near the end of processing. The almond essence essentially wiped out the vanilla, and my very ripe fresh cherries were a little too well blended in. It did have a great cherry-almond flavor, and I would make it again if I wanted a strictly cherry ice cream, but I'd also add in some chocolate chunks to give it some more interest and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
So good. To fit in my ice cream maker I had to halve the recipe. I used 1 cup heavy cream, 1 cup half and half but still used 2 cups cherries, which I quartered. Got rave reviews from family members!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I did like this recipe but I did have to modify it a bit. I cut back the sugar to half a cup and left out the almond extract (not something I keep stocked in my pantry). I also combined everything in the blender and mixed it that way so that there were small pieces of cherries and the sugar was more evenly mixed so it wouldn't be grainy. I just wish I would have had some chocolate chunks to add to this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brandon, Florida, USA
Living In: Middleburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
It was just what I was looking for! I've been looking for an easy recipe without eggs or condensed milk. I followed the recipe except I used jarred cherries instead (because cherries are not in season yet), and put some of the juices from the jar but it was good without that. I added melted chocolate to it while it mixed. It was so good and would of been great without my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This is an excellent basic vanilla ice cream. You can add the cherries or add candy or whatever. So easy and very very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I loved the almond flavoring. This ice cream was very good...I only used 1 and 1/2 cups of cherries and thought even that was a little heavy handed when all was frozen up. I did add a 1/4 cup of tart cherry juice concentrate and 2 dark chocolate bars that I diced up. Yum! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
made this yesterday, was very good...i did use the almond extract and we liked it...next time we make this i will cut the cherries in quarters and rough cut some of them...it was really refreshing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States