Vanilla Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Renae
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Quick and easy. Great texture and flavor. I added almond extract instead of vanilla and it turned out phenomenal! Advice..slowly add milk and flower mixture to get desired consistency. I had to add more powderd sugar at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covelo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
WORST frosting recipe! Texture was unappealing, thin before even adding milk/flour. I would have ruined my son's first cake if I put that sloppy excuse for frosting on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Talbot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I didn't follow the directions and it turned out terrible!! But then I actually followed the directions and it turned out ok, I just think I messed up because it was a little thin, and I hoped for it to be thicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
My recipe is similar but it only has 3/4 cup of butter. I would try this again with wondra flour if you have problems with regular flour. This might help to eliminate the lumps. I use gold medal flour in my recipe. I do NOT use this for frosting. I used this as a filling for my chocolate torte recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. It comes out clumpy. Hard to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
It just tastes like sweet butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
a very odd recipe indeed. not much taste and taste that is there is not very good. also the flour was hard to work with and often became lumpy. i do not remomend this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Lafayette, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I thought this was great! Since I read that it might turn out lumpy, I mixed it in my blender, and it turned out excellent. I'll definitely use this recipe again. Thank you for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
It was to buttery for me and my sister
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
It was very lumpy and flour tasting. I had to whip the flour mixture for over ten min. to minimized the lumps. I added less then half of the four/milk mixture to the butter/sugar mixture then tasted, the flavor was delicious. I follow the recipe and it ruined the taste. It became a flour tasting frosting. I would recommend adding 1/4 of the flour/milk mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States