Vanilla Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Thank you...this was a great recipe! It's even a great breakfast snack with coffee!! :-) However, I did follow some of the other suggestions in regards to the sweetness since this was my first time baking these: 3/4 Cup White Sugar, 3/4 Cup Brown Sugar, 1 Table Spoon Vanilla Extract, 1 Cup White Choc Chips, and 1 Cup Walnuts. It baked pretty quickly in an 8x8 Glass Pan in just 30 mins. Definitely will do this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer702

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I was hungry for maple, so did 4 Tablespoons if pure maple syrup instead of vanilla (24 svg)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana
Home Town: Clinton, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
These came out pretty much perfect for me. I used a smaller metal pan (8x8 I believe) and baked for 40 minutes using parchment paper in the pan: no burning and perfect brownie consistency! I also used white chocolate chips in the batter and topped with buttercream frosting. I think this is a perfect option for people who are not huge chocolate fans. My boyfriend is one of these people and asked for an entire pan of these just for him, he can't get enough. And since the recipe is so basic your creativity can run wild trying different special ingredients. The only negative thing I noticed was that the middle of the pan sank a bit upon cooling, so I'm not quite sure what happened there... still tasted delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I needed to make a dessert for a party and didn't have any ingredients for my go-to dishes, so I turned to this. WOW. I cut the sugars down to 3/4 cup each and upped the vanilla to 1 TBSP on the advice of others. I also added some white chocolate chips, which, in my opinion, totally made these brownies. These were fantastic and completely gone at the party. Plus, they were so easy I definitely adding these into my go-to dessert file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. The temperatures indicted are too high for too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by guerillagourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
These taste like regular brownies with the chocolate chips, so if you are not a chocolate fan go for half the chips, and maybe a little more vanilla. My mother really enjoyed them and I am taking them to our church for a picnic. The bottoms and edges didn't burn at all and I would go for about 33-35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Machine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winthrop, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Not sure what I am doing wrong on these I made them twice and cant get them baked right. They flavor is good but they will not bake evenly. To get them all the way done they were hard as a brick on endges. I am sure its me doing something wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coopersville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
When I first took a bite I went right back to my childhood because my mom used to make a waffle cookie that I loved, but she wont give me the recipe. So I was presently surprised to find that this recipe tastes just like them but in brownie form! I left out the chocolate chips and they were still amazing! I also didn't cook them the entire time stated. I will be making these again soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I made this when I was babysitting with the girls and we had a lot of fun. The taste really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I really liked this recipe.But I had to change some things first I had to reduce sugar to 1 cup each (brown and white), I added half a teaspoon of vanilla, and I used salted butter so I reduced the salt down to 1/4 of a teaspoon.I loved this recipe but I can only give it 3 stars because I made so many changes that I have no idea how it would have tasted if I made it the way the recipe wanted. Hope this helped!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States