Vanilla Banamango Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This was a good smoothie! 2 things I liked about it, is that it incorporated a vegetable and that it was the first smoothie/juice with ginger that called for the powdered form. I find fresh ginger too strong of a flavor in anything other than a stir-fry. I will subtitute it in other recipes. The type I used was Chinese Powdered #1 from Penzey's. Their spices are very strong, so I cut the amount in half. The yogurt I buy is non-fat Greek plain yogurt. I subtituted 1/3 cup of that for the 6oz of vanilla kind. Next time, maybe I will add a little vanilla or sweetener to see if there is any difference. My mango was frozen and I still used the ice cubes. Even with a frozen mango, not sure how someone without a high-speed blender could blend this though. It has very little liquid. I have a Vitamix blender and had to use 1/2 cup fresh oj, instead of a 1/4 cup, and really had to use the tamper to process it. Mine was also orange in color for some reason. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This deserves 5++!! I reversed the frozen fruit cuz had mango frozen already and used fresh banana. Followed all else as directed and it is so refreshing and tasty-very thick and smooth! Would also be great to put into a popsicle mold to freeze for hot summers; whatever way we will be making this often. Thanks for this post, Ecco_Star, but it's greeeeeaaaaat, lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Mmmm, loved it! I used french vanilla yogurt, and I think it added extra flavor! And I omitted carrots since I didn't have them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daizy Flower

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I substituted whole milk for the orange juice in this and it was still waaaay too sugary for my tastes. I would make it again, maybe with coconut milk and honey, and no yogurt or orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I loved the zip the ginger added to the flavor. If I hadn't put them in myself I doubt I would have known there were carrots in there. I think you get a better fruit taste if a smoothie isn't too cold so I don't add ice, my banana, mango and juice were refrigerated. For me, this is just perfect. Thank you, Ecco Star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
the ginger was a little overwhelming for this crew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
omg, so good. Used one fresh banana one fresh mango (fist time i have never bought and used one) waited a day for the mango to be a bit soft. I washed and half peeled the mango. I added a wopping tablespoon of great value vanilla yogurt and, I dunno, a 1/4 cup dole orange peach mango juice. Also about a handful and a half of ice. I will always have these ingredients in my home from now on. Of course I am sipping on my smoothie as I type :D I would have added the carrots, as I add them to almost all of my smoothies- my boyfriend said he might try if i made it with out them- oh well I will next time. and I didnt have any ginger. yum yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Made this smoothie today. Its awesome. Delicious. Very smoothie like consistency. I did add one more carrot and some more ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jp9698

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
My banana wasn't frozen, so I added some extra ice to reach the correct smoothie consistency. Cinco de Mayo is this weekend, and mangos are available everywhere. My mango was perfectly ripe and juicy and added incredible flavor to this drink. The tiny carrot pieces make the smoothie look pretty, and although not overpowering, the ginger is the surprise ingredient that will leave people wondering "...what is that?" I make a lot of smoothies, there's nothing about this that I didn't like, and it definitely will be made again. And as if that isn't enough, nutritionally, this breaks down well. Nice recipe Ecco_Star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States