Vanilla - Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
I'm so glad I found this excellent frosting recipe! It tastes just like Grandma's & is so easy to make. I will absolutely keep this recipe to use again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Just like everyone before me says just perfection. I loved the way it dried enough that you can stack them but not hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PARTYOFSIX00
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I have never made homemade frosting. This was easy and great! I feel like a pro. Thanks Thanks Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
This was a great recipe. I didn't have any milk and I too used coffee creamer (French Vanilla). I was a little skeptical at first but it turned out great. It was very fluffy. I only added 1 tablespoon of the creamer. I think that might be the key between the fluffy vs pudding consistency; use less liquid for fluffy. When I was making it, there didn't seem to be enough of it, but I used it to frost about 24 cookies generously, more than I thought. I also used green food coloring. This is a good basic, sweet frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fulofgrace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
Simple, easy and delicious! However, I'd suggest making twice as much if you are going to frost and fill a 9" cake. I don't understand what people are saying about the pudding consistency. I had no butter so I used margarine, and it was still wasn't runny. Maybe they are comparing it to canned frosting, but as homemade frostings go, it's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
Thank you so much for this easy recipe.I am not much of a cook,last week my son wanted me to bake a cake.I had a chocolate cake mix,so I made that but had no frosting!I found your recipe ,and everyone loved it.Much better than store bought, it took about 3 minutes to make. I will definitely make this again.Next time i'll try chocolate.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I made it without the chocolate, and it was some of the best frosting I've ever had. Simple, yet soooo delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
Made this recipe using margarine and soy milk, added a pinch of salt as suggested this stuff is great! the full recipe covered a 9x9 pan of brownies perfectly. Came out a light butter color. Better than from the can, YUMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELISSABEAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
Very easy to make. No problem with the consistency, but others might have had a problem if the butter was melted or didn't mix long enough. Mom's tip is to add a touch of salt to help even out the sweetness. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
You can substitute butter flavored Crisco for the butter in this recipe. Simple to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States