Vanilla - Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I took the reviews into consideration while making this for cupcakes, and didn't want them too sugary, so I added 3 tbsp cocoa pwdr. and kept everthing else the same as the recipe called for. My icing came out so thick and I think I might have figured out why some are having problems with it being too thin. If you are using margering instead of butter, there is a higher content of water in it. This frosting is fantastic for cupcakes, nice and thick if you use butter. I'll be keeping this easy and delicous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
Very easy to make. No problem with the consistency, but others might have had a problem if the butter was melted or didn't mix long enough. Mom's tip is to add a touch of salt to help even out the sweetness. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This recipe is a bit sweet if you are using it without the cocoa. If you do use cocoa with it, it tastes great. I added a half cup of cream cheese (making the vanilla version) and it tasted even better. This does NOT yeild 3 cups, I only got 1 and 1/2 or so cups out of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Powdered sugar frosting, basic buttercream frosting, whatever you want to call it this recipe has the perfect proportions of butter to powdered sugar. I made the vanilla version and didn't measure the milk, just added enough to get the consistency I wanted. For novice cooks, it is important to cream the butter and sugar well, a good few minutes, until it is very light and fluffy! Update 11-19-12: The chocolate variation of this recipe, while fluffy and delicious, is a very LIGHT chocolate. If you like it darker, replace some of the powdered sugar with more cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I needed a frosting recipe for cookies I was making. My friend had neglected to give me her frosting recipe with the cookies, so I needed something delicious and easy. It's so good, I had a hard time not licking the spoon as I frosted. Absolutely delicious! Will use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
This was the easiest, fastest, and most delicious frosting recipe ever!! I don't know what happened to the person who wrote the review saying it was like pudding...maybe they put in too much milk, but I didn't have that problem at all. We used it to frost our Valentine's Day cookies, just added a drop of red food coloring for pink frosting and it is great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
I made the chocolate version using unsweeted cocoa- delicious. After mixing it up (I added the cocoa in at the beginning - works fine) I added another tablespoon of cocoa for a slightly more intense chocolate flavor. This is so easy to make and tastes just as good as store-bought but WITHOUT THE TRANS FATS. The very first ingredient in store-bought frosting is partially hydrogenated oil!Gross! So, feel good making this frosting for your kids! Note: The color is a light creamy brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
This turned out wonderfully! At first I thought it looked just a little runny but it piped and set up beautifully on my cupcakes! I used it to frost Cream Filled Cupcakes (also found on this site) and the tastes matched perfectly! It wasn't too sweet at all and I will definitely make this recipe again. Thanks alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
Simple, easy and delicious! However, I'd suggest making twice as much if you are going to frost and fill a 9" cake. I don't understand what people are saying about the pudding consistency. I had no butter so I used margarine, and it was still wasn't runny. Maybe they are comparing it to canned frosting, but as homemade frostings go, it's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Why buy store bought frosting when this recipe is sooooo good?! I made chocolate frosting with 3T. good quality cocoa (from Penzey's Spices) and half and half instead of milk. Use electric beaters to mix up the frosting and there should be no complaints about the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 450) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States