Vanilla - Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Delicious and versitile, I often omit the cocoa and add other flavors (cream cheese, orange juice, peppermint, etc.) to compliment the dessert of the day - always, with wonderful results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Granite Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
So good I licked the beaters. I did add 1/2 a tsp of almond extract to it and it really turned out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was a good frosting but it was a little sweet so I ended up adding more then just 2 Tablespoons of cocoa. But overall was yummy. I will use this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I like this because it has a relatively low amount of butter, compared to a buttercream frosting. Mine turned out perfectly. I was afraid of the 'too sweet' possibility so I added half a pinch of salt. It was divine! The key is to add the milk very sparingly, NO more than 1 1/2 Tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
My mother use to make this with blue bonnet margerine. Perfect recipe to change up without messing it up. Great to use with different flavored extracts and/or food coloring and doesnt lose its thick consistency. Also for the butter take it from the fridge and let it warm up to room temp (or zap in microwave for about 10 seconds. (-: )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I was looking for a quick, simple frosting for my coconut cake and came across this one. I substituted coconut extract for the vanilla and it was the perfect frosting for my cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I consider myself to have a sweet tooth and I found the vanilla version of this recipe ENTIRELY too sweet. I really wanted to use the white version, because I want to color it for a birthday cake. In reading the reviews, others said that using unsweetened cocoa mellowed the sweetness, so I tried that. It is better, but I'm still not sure about it. The consistancy was good. Overally, not a huge fan of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matthews, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
It came out great! I realized that in order to make frosting properly, u do need a mixer of some sort! Just a whisk alone had always made frostings runny, not so much as a frosting lol but i used this recipe for chocolate cupcakes as well as a cake :) thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I find this recipe best when the cake is refridgerated after frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
You have to try this. It's so fast, simple and yummy. WAY better than any frosting you buy in a plastic tub!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dothemooshoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States