Vanilla - Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This recipe is the same I grew up using before store-bought icing. The only difference is we used canned evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Does this ever take me back to my childhood! Once a week in my teens, I got to bake a cake (it was a reward thing). This was the only frosting I ever used because back then there wasn't any canned frosting available at the grocery stores. The cake flavor determined whether I made the vanilla or the chocolate version of this frosting. I'm going to bake a cake right now and whip up some of this memorable frosting. Thank you for posting this tried and true recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I make homemade frosting all the time!. I prefer homemade to the store bought stuff. No offense Betty Crocker. For those of you getting a thin consistency frosting there are 2 things you can do. 1) Add about 1/4 cup of vegetable shortening. This will definitely thicken it and give you a better consistency without losing the flavor. Or 2) slow down your mixer. When you cream the ingredients together too quickly you melt the butter making it soupy. Also, use less milk if the butter is really soft. I HOPE THIS HELPS!!! Happy frosting! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I also use the same basic recipes for other flavors. Play around with it. It is delicious. My favorite now is lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Thank you so much for this, I am not the greatest chef or baker I am a mom of 4 and need the most help I can. I love to give treats for my children to share with the kids in their classes for special occasions. Tonight I realized that my Daughter's class was celebrating Summer birthdays before the school year ends and I wanted to take part since her birthday is in August. I had no Icing though. Had no spare change to buy any and it was to late before I got the note. So I thought maybe I could try and make it myself. I found this website and found the recipe first and thought I should try it. All I have to say is WOW very delicious the kids are going to enjoy these very much and I thank you for your contribution to this web site.. You saved me.. LOL Also I will never buy icing EVER again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamauf4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This is good and easy to make. It didn't get five stars just because it wasn't anything totally amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drama4Ellen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
so basic, soooo delicious. I made this to top somecupcakes that are in the oven now, but I might just eat the whole bowl before I get to use it as topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This is a great quick frosting. FYI, I didn't have cocoa powder so I zapped 1/2 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips in the microwave for 2 mins on medium heat and added them after when beating the butter, sugar, and vanilla. You can add a tiny bit more milk if you find the chips make it too thick. But chocolate flavor came out great. This frosting is on the sweeter side, for sure, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I left out the vanilla and substituted maple flavoring instead. Used it on top of a chocolate sour cream cake. It was delicious! Very easy frosting to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 446) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States