Vanilla - Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I used a 1.5 tsp of cocoa and 1 3/4 tsp of vanilla - this icing turned out fantastic!! A very vanilla frosting with a hint of cocoa =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chryzznit79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This recipe is by far the best frosting! I've used it on cake, cookies, and an eclair dessert. Consistency needs to be adjusted with the varying items with a little more or less milk depending on what I make. But, I use this recipe every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I agree with another reviewer that this does not make 3 cups. It barely covered the top of one 9" round cake. Still, it's very good. It does come out extremely soft and spreadable. If you're putting plastic decorations atop the cake, they will sink down into this very malleable frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I've been making powdered sugar frosting since I was a young girl, but I never measured the ingredients before. I just mixed some powdered sugar and butter, then added too much milk, then added more powdered sugar, then added too much milk...You get the idea! I learned early to add the milk just a little bit at a time. Today I made this to use on the train cake that is on the video for my grandson's birthday, so I measured. I had to make 3 batches, and they were great. I used exactly 1 TBS. milk to 2 cups powdered sugar. I mixed it with an electric mixer and it was a snap. From now on, I'll measure! By the way, any leftover frosting was always used to frost graham crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This was so good and fluffy I ate most of it before my cupcakes were done! I added an extra tablespoon of cocoa powder and used land o lakes salted butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Pretty good! Turned out a little thin but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Very delicious! Rich and moist-- I wanted to eat it all by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Love it for its simplicity! I used 3 T cocoa per other reviews. Fast, easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I modified this recipe since I didn't have milk or butter. I used butter flavored Crisco and 2 tablespoon of water as substitutes. It actually came out great, I was happily surprised that it did. I live in Texas and I know of many who use Crisco to make icing because of the higher melting point, but this was the first time I had tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Very easy and tasty. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 453) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States