Vanilla - Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was a very good recipe....would work awesome as a starter recipe with the ability to change the flavor according to substituting the vanilla extract. The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is it was too sweet to use as a vanilla recipe for my taste so I did end up adding the cocoa and it came out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Very good, basic icing recipe. Delicious with the cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This recipe was very easy to make. It was a bit sweet so I may take the advice of another reviewer and add more cocoa powder to cut the sweetness a little. I did notice that the recipe calls out the serving size is 48, but i was only able to frost 12 cupcakes (barely) with this recipe. I didn't go crazy on the frosting either. I did pipe the frosting but this should have covered at least 2 dozen but it didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CakeFACE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I made this frosting exactly the way the recipe calls and it came out delicious. Soooooo...creamy. Put it on some hamemade cupcakes for my little guy's birthday, everyone enjoyed. Never buy store bought again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
My mother would make a frosting with these ingredients but she never used a recipe. Mine never turned out like my mothers. I will deffinetly use this recipe often. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This recipe is the same I grew up using before store-bought icing. The only difference is we used canned evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Does this ever take me back to my childhood! Once a week in my teens, I got to bake a cake (it was a reward thing). This was the only frosting I ever used because back then there wasn't any canned frosting available at the grocery stores. The cake flavor determined whether I made the vanilla or the chocolate version of this frosting. I'm going to bake a cake right now and whip up some of this memorable frosting. Thank you for posting this tried and true recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I make homemade frosting all the time!. I prefer homemade to the store bought stuff. No offense Betty Crocker. For those of you getting a thin consistency frosting there are 2 things you can do. 1) Add about 1/4 cup of vegetable shortening. This will definitely thicken it and give you a better consistency without losing the flavor. Or 2) slow down your mixer. When you cream the ingredients together too quickly you melt the butter making it soupy. Also, use less milk if the butter is really soft. I HOPE THIS HELPS!!! Happy frosting! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I also use the same basic recipes for other flavors. Play around with it. It is delicious. My favorite now is lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States