Vanilla - Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Just made this for a 9x13 yellow cake I had baked. Read a lot of the reviews and so upped the cocoa to 3 T, use 1 T cream cheese, for the milk used 1/2 n 1/2. Since I was adding the cream cheese I used 3/4 butter (not oleo). Could not ask for a better frosting, easy to spread, just right amount to frost my cake. I've saved to my recipe box for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Made the vanilla version for a white cake. I tripled the recipe for 2 boxes of cake mix.... Should have made 4x the original recipe. It's good frosting and easy but just not outstanding. Perfect for frosting a tiered cake and making cupcakes look great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This recipe is FABULOUS! The best frosting Ive ever eaten!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Based on one of the reviews, reviews, I added 1/2 cup cream cheese, the cocoa powder, and almond essence. It was extremely delicious and the perfect texture. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Very easy, but on the sweet side. If I make it again, I will up the butter and lessen the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Easy to make and delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is delicious! I added the cocoa powder. I actually used 3 tablespoons because I wanted a stronger chocolate flavor. This frosting is very thick, fluffy and decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I have used this recipe for my Christmas sugar cookies for 30 years. I love it because it holds the decorations and sugars so well and people fight over my Christmas plate of cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This recipe is delicious and easy to make. I will certainly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Very good recipe as is. I thought the chocolate flavor was a bit on the light side so I doubled the cocoa and milk. Not too dark and not too light, just right. I mixed for about 4 minutes, until the color changes from dark to light. 2 notes: 1. Sift the cocoa and sugar together and the frosting will be super duper smooth. 2. Add just a pinch of salt if you are using UNSALTED butter. Salt enhances the chocolate flavor. There's my 2 cents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 31-40 (of 463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States