Vanilla - Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ashrenee1983
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
LOVE this icing!!!! I use 1/2 tsp of vanilla and 3 tbsp. of cocoa :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I think I did something wrong, because my frosting did not turn out right at all. I followed the directions for the vanilla frosting, but it turned out looking a little bit like baby formula. I think what I probably did wrong was put a little too much milk in it, because I had added that little extra half tablespoon of it to the frosting so it wouldn't be so sweet. It tastes good, but doesn't look so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Considering the fact that this recipe requires so few ingredients and virtually no time, it's pretty darn good. It is ULTRA sweet! Adding the extra tablespoon of cocoa powder does level out the sweetness, but it's still pretty sweet. The texture is fine. It is very similar to one you would find in the grocery store. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I made the cocoa version, but took followed another reviewer's suggestion and substituted one cup of the water with one cup of hot coffee. It came out light brown in color and "fluffy". Would be OK to dip strawberries in (as a dip not a coating), but didn't make me say YUM as a cake frosting. I recently moved and have yet to unpack my favorite recipes, so I'll continue to search for antother frosting recipe until I can find that box!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Way runny. What a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Oh my goodness- this frosting is the best ever! It barely made it on the cake, as I had to stop myself from eating it by the spoonful! It got rave reviews. Thanks for the only frosting recipe I will ever use! (One tablespoon milk was perfect.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Just made this for a 9x13 yellow cake I had baked. Read a lot of the reviews and so upped the cocoa to 3 T, use 1 T cream cheese, for the milk used 1/2 n 1/2. Since I was adding the cream cheese I used 3/4 butter (not oleo). Could not ask for a better frosting, easy to spread, just right amount to frost my cake. I've saved to my recipe box for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Made the vanilla version for a white cake. I tripled the recipe for 2 boxes of cake mix.... Should have made 4x the original recipe. It's good frosting and easy but just not outstanding. Perfect for frosting a tiered cake and making cupcakes look great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This recipe is FABULOUS! The best frosting Ive ever eaten!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Based on one of the reviews, reviews, I added 1/2 cup cream cheese, the cocoa powder, and almond essence. It was extremely delicious and the perfect texture. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 459) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States