Vanilla - Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Good flavor, definitely need to double the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CupcakePolly
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Not my favorite but it was easy and it did the job. My bf liked it though. I did add 1 more tbs of cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
very good and SOOO easy - start with 1 tbsp of milk and add till perfect. thanks! saved me a trip to the store for the icky tubbed kind :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I eliminated the cocoa powder because I needed to dye the frosting, but it was very tasty! It was sweet, but I like a sweet frosting, and it was perfect for decorating cupcakes. My only complaint is that this definitely wouldn't have frosted 48 cupcakes. It barely did my 24!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
this is a very easy frosting, although it wasnt enough to cover a 9X13 pan so i doubled the confectioners sugar, vanilla, cocoa powder and milk, made it lighter and very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Lettieri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I love to do this stuff and just for fun i put some color in there. My family well lil cuzins love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I didn't like this recipe on it's own, but my husband did. I found when I added some almond extract it was greatly improved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
The most idiot-proof recipe I've ever made from this site. You make this in no time flat. Tastes exactly like the stuff you buy in the store. I don't know if that's a good or bad thing - but I know it did taste pretty darn good! I needed this to dirty-ice a cake before I stick fondant on it. Worked well. Tasted good - easy to make - this was a clear winner and will now be my go-to icing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGLEGUYWHOCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stoneham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
CAUTION-**TOO SWEET WITHOUT CHOCOLATE ADDED**!!! I made this and iced a chocolate cake, I was looking for a buttercream frosting taste, but really it just tasted like powdered sugar. I added a bit more vanilla, but that just made it sweeter. I would have added more butter, but I had none left so I couldn't. I ended up using a very very thin layer on the cake, and it was still way too sweet for our taste. (and I love sweet things! but could only eat a tiny bit of this icing)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gourmetshand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
pretty good consistancy ... will use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nwfc65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States