Vanilla - Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Powdered sugar frosting, basic buttercream frosting, whatever you want to call it this recipe has the perfect proportions of butter to powdered sugar. I made the vanilla version and didn't measure the milk, just added enough to get the consistency I wanted. For novice cooks, it is important to cream the butter and sugar well, a good few minutes, until it is very light and fluffy! Update 11-19-12: The chocolate variation of this recipe, while fluffy and delicious, is a very LIGHT chocolate. If you like it darker, replace some of the powdered sugar with more cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
very easy very good thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I halved this recipe and used margarine that has a butter like consistency. It turned out good. it's really fluffy. I'm only giving it 4 stars because it's too sweet. I added lemon extract to suit my taste and it's still sweet, but non the less tastes good and has excellent consistency. It also requires a few handy ingredients. DEFINITELY A KEEPER! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Antipolo City, Rizal, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Quick and easy, I use this recipe all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Simple and quick frosting. Used maple syrup instead of milk and got a nice caramel flavor at first. Then I was playing around with food coloring and didn´t like the final color, so I added the cocoa powder and made it into chocolate frosting. Thank goodness for flexible recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Wonderful! I made sure to use room-temperature (not melted) butter, added just a little extra milk, plus a dash of salt (as another reviewer suggested) in order to balance out the sweetness, and it turned out great! Thank you for this recipe! I will be using it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bananapeel88

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
It was great!! Didnt change anything!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This is really good and my daughter loves to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Nice taste and texture; I doubled the recipe and heavily frosted 15 cupcakes. Will make this my standard powdered sugar frosting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Id give this 10 stars if I could! I used 3 tbsp of cocoa instead of two, but other than that I made no changes. It tasted just like brownie batter to me, I loved it. And I don't think it was too sweet, it had the perfect sweetness for frosting which is meant to be sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States