Vanilla - Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I halved this recipe and used margarine that has a butter like consistency. It turned out good. it's really fluffy. I'm only giving it 4 stars because it's too sweet. I added lemon extract to suit my taste and it's still sweet, but non the less tastes good and has excellent consistency. It also requires a few handy ingredients. DEFINITELY A KEEPER! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Antipolo City, Rizal, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Quick and easy, I use this recipe all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Simple and quick frosting. Used maple syrup instead of milk and got a nice caramel flavor at first. Then I was playing around with food coloring and didn´t like the final color, so I added the cocoa powder and made it into chocolate frosting. Thank goodness for flexible recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Wonderful! I made sure to use room-temperature (not melted) butter, added just a little extra milk, plus a dash of salt (as another reviewer suggested) in order to balance out the sweetness, and it turned out great! Thank you for this recipe! I will be using it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bananapeel88

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
It was great!! Didnt change anything!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This is really good and my daughter loves to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Nice taste and texture; I doubled the recipe and heavily frosted 15 cupcakes. Will make this my standard powdered sugar frosting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Id give this 10 stars if I could! I used 3 tbsp of cocoa instead of two, but other than that I made no changes. It tasted just like brownie batter to me, I loved it. And I don't think it was too sweet, it had the perfect sweetness for frosting which is meant to be sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
used this frosting on my daughters birthday cake and it was yum! I didn't add the cocoa to it. Make sure you use a real and high grade vanilla flavoring. You could prob. try adding different flavor and hav great success. This frosting has a great spreading consistancy but I think it's a little too sweet to use between layers as well as on top. I filled my cake with lightly sweetened whipped cream and fresh unsweetened strawberries. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Good flavor, definitely need to double the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 453) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States