Vanilla - Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
The recipe as written came out perfectly. Couldn't be easier. I'll definitely use this over store-bought frosting from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This frosting was too sweet for me so I added 3 oz. of cream cheese instead of milk. It not only cut the sweetness, but it also gave it the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Very easy, and tasty. I paired this up with the strawberry cupcake recipes (also from this site) and added about a tsp. of strawberry extract from this site to stay with the strawberry flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
PERFECT! super good! spreadable, easy to make, yummy, good texture...all around good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
used the vanilla version. Added half a thing of cream cheese and did 1.5 times the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
The vanilla frosting is perfect for carrot cake! Great, simple, and fast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Delicious, However if making the vanilla version to frost a 9' cake I would recommend doubling the recipe. I used the full amount of milk and added a single egg yolk which gave the frosting a creamier consistency and thus a neater presentation, nut the original is still fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Powdered sugar frosting, basic buttercream frosting, whatever you want to call it this recipe has the perfect proportions of butter to powdered sugar. I made the vanilla version and didn't measure the milk, just added enough to get the consistency I wanted. For novice cooks, it is important to cream the butter and sugar well, a good few minutes, until it is very light and fluffy! Update 11-19-12: The chocolate variation of this recipe, while fluffy and delicious, is a very LIGHT chocolate. If you like it darker, replace some of the powdered sugar with more cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
very easy very good thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I halved this recipe and used margarine that has a butter like consistency. It turned out good. it's really fluffy. I'm only giving it 4 stars because it's too sweet. I added lemon extract to suit my taste and it's still sweet, but non the less tastes good and has excellent consistency. It also requires a few handy ingredients. DEFINITELY A KEEPER! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Antipolo City, Rizal, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States