Vanilla - Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I've never made homemade frosting before and OH MY GOD! This was delicious! I had to stop myself from eating all of it before I could spread it on my cherry turnovers! The only problem was that I think I added one too many tablespoons of milk because it was a little runny but it was still sooooo delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eclarkson09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
GREAT recipe! What I like about it is you can use one recipe and make both vanilla and chocolate frosting. I would have liked a heavier texture but it was sweet enough without adding more sugar. I did, however, add 1/4 tsp. of salt as I felt it needed it. Thank you for sharing such a GREAT recipe Anonymous. I'm giving it 5 stars because the ease of two flavors makes up for the salt and texture issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Excellent!! I just made this for my four year old's son birthday cake. I tinted it blue. I had to quadruple the ingredients but then I had more then enough to cover an 11x15 in cake....I definitely recommend this recipe and will be using it often myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proudmom74
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
The recipe as written came out perfectly. Couldn't be easier. I'll definitely use this over store-bought frosting from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This frosting was too sweet for me so I added 3 oz. of cream cheese instead of milk. It not only cut the sweetness, but it also gave it the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Very easy, and tasty. I paired this up with the strawberry cupcake recipes (also from this site) and added about a tsp. of strawberry extract from this site to stay with the strawberry flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
PERFECT! super good! spreadable, easy to make, yummy, good texture...all around good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
used the vanilla version. Added half a thing of cream cheese and did 1.5 times the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
The vanilla frosting is perfect for carrot cake! Great, simple, and fast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Delicious, However if making the vanilla version to frost a 9' cake I would recommend doubling the recipe. I used the full amount of milk and added a single egg yolk which gave the frosting a creamier consistency and thus a neater presentation, nut the original is still fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States