Vanilla - Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I wanted a quick simple frosting for brownies or cookies. I made a few changes due to what I had and personal preference. I halved the recipe and used margarine instead of butter and another 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. I also added about 1 1/2 tablespoons of peanut butter. It helped thicken up the frosting and gave it a nice creamy peanut butter taste. Delicious! I couldn't stop licking the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
With following changes: 4 Tbsp. cocoa powder. 1/4 C milk. 1 T liquor (this case Bailey's caramel cream) and sifted in cinnamon to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Super easy and trustworthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAHLIA0801

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This was an amazing frosting to make and it tasted soooo good. I did the chocolate version too. I added about 4 Tbsps. of cocoa. One thing I loved about using the cocoa was the low calories. One recipe I used called for 6 oz of baking chocolate...70 calories in just one oz! Loved the fosting...so so good! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
this was a great recipe! i loved it! super easy to make and it tastes great! i made the vanilla version and i put it on my RAINBOW CLOWN CAKE (this is a super great recipie as well, also on allrecipies.com) recipe! great mix! the white color totally made the rainbow pop! thanks for the recipie! dgh407
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This recipe is so simple and so great! I have made this a handful of times and every time I get a perfect consistency, espically for cupcakes! I did cut back on the vanilla just a little bit because I thought it was pretty overpowering, but other than that it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This frosting recipe is truly amazing! I made this frosting to top some dark chocolate cupcakes I had made for some people at work, and I got rave reviews. It is definitely hard not to eat the frosting all by itself! I did add a little more cocoa powder for more chocolate flavor, though- delicious! I will never buy frosting from the store again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This frosting was good overall, but it was rather sweet for us. We ended up adding a lot more cocoa powder to balance out the sweetness because we thought adding more milk would make it thinner and we wanted a thick frosting. After that it ended up being great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
great basic frosting recipe...no hassle and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by remard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Came out great! It actually made a bit more than I needed for 12 cupcakes, but I'd rather have extra than not enough! So easy and convenient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENPEN006

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 141-150 (of 459) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States