VanVoorst Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Very good. Was concerned about it being too mustardy but after reading the reviews, I, once again, put my faith in complete strangers and took a chance on it. Once again, they were right. You could definitely taste the mustard but it was in no way over-powering or distracting. It was really good. Made it just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This is an excellent recipe to use left-overs. It's easy and economical. The author did miss a step in the instructions but that step is such a no-brainer that its omission is entirely understandable. During step #3 you need to combine the cooked pasta with the ham/sauce mixture. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This is one of my family's Favorite dish!! It's super tasty and quick and easy to make. I only made a few changes, I replaced the parsley with Dill and the yellow mustard I replaced with a dill spicy mustard. Great dish, Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather1225

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Friendsville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I tweaked this recipe with spinach and replaced 1\2 cup of sour cream with melted cream cheese and used a blend of Italian cheeses. I also added lots of garlic. This recipe was a hit at the dinner table. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This is a great recipe. I was nervous about the reviews about the mustard and salt, but I followed the recipe as is and it turned out great. The only thing I did different was the amount of mozzarella cheese I added. I love Cheese. It was missing something but I am not sure what it might be, but most definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
It was cheesier than I was expecting, but was still great. Definitely will be keeping this one on the list for future leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
We liked this casserole and yes, you can taste the mustard a little bit but we didn't find it overpowering as others stated. Maybe it helped that I made this up the day before and cooked it the next day. Great way to use up leftover ham and stretching it for another complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This was easy and delicious. This is a perfect way to use up leftover ham. The mustard flavor was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
We really liked this recipe. I only had 1/2 cup Mozzarella cheese, so I used Parmesan for the topping cheese and it worked out great. I also had to use dried parsley. I was cautious about the amount of mustard, so I only used 1 tablespoon, but I think the full amount would have been fine. Caution on the "salt to taste." When taste testing prior to baking, I added salt because it seemed to need it, then after baking and all the flavors had melded, it was too salty. It's a great way to use up left over ham and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I just made this, however I made a couple alterations, I used swiss cheese instead of mozzerella, I like the combo of hame and swiss and I used dijon mustard instead of yellow. The flavor is very nice and not overpowering as some had said with the yellow. Will definitely had this recipe to my list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States