Val's Spicy Baked Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This was fabulous!!! Used less butter as per the other reviews but followed the rest to a tee. Both my husband and I LOVED the shrimp. He had rice as a side and I had salad, and we both mopped up the sauce with garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Very good. I didn't have any white wine and look forward to adding that next time. This will probably be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Made this while on vacation in North Carolina, everyone loved it. If you like your food a bit more spicy, you can go heavy on the crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Absolutely beautiful. Perfectly seasoned (with unsalted butter) I had a package of real bacon bits I wanted to use up so I quickly crisped them (there was no bacon fat to speak of)and then followed the recipe. I added some simple crab stuffed pepperdews and some whole hearts of palm to the pan. I broiled for the last few minutes and served with lots of warm French bread to soak up the butter sauce. So naughty but so very nice! I'm going to take up jogging just so I can have this once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Wow was this good! I made it with large shrimp and only used 1 stick of butter and 1 teaspoon of old bay. Served it with a yummy cheese baguette from the bakery and fresh corn on the cobb. I always make Paula Deen's fiery cajun shrimp but this was even better than that and we love her shrimp. The sauce in this recipe is to die for. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Great recipe....but I decreased the butter dramatically, with great results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Made this for supper tonight for my husband and myself. Halved the recipe, and used about 1/4 cup of unsalted butter. Didn't have any wine or seafood seasoning. Added two pinches of celery salt to the onion mixture whilst cooking. Also, didn't have any raw shrimp, so used cooked and skipped the baking and just tossed the shrimp in the pan to heat them through after the onions were cooked. I served it with spaghetti (finished the spaghetti in the pan with the shrimp). Was great!! A new fave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Made this with 1/2 cup butter and omitted the wine, but it was really, really good! We all enjoyed it, even our 6 and 8 year old. We made it with penne pasta on the side, but realized that if you mix it all together it was so much better...definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
My family loved this shrimp dish. Make it again is what I heard from my son and husband. Used 1/2 cup butter was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is amazingly delicious. You might want to bear a few things in mind, though: 1. That is way too much butter. I'd suggest coating the pan w a tablespoon, but only if you use precooked bacon like I did. I doubt you even need butter if you cook the bacon in the skillet. 2. Adjust the spice based on taste--there is no need to use 2 tbs of Old Bay and red pepper flakes if you aren't a spicy food lover. And 3. If you use an oven safe skillet like I did, you don't need to dirty more dishes. I have an oven safe skillet just for recipes like this. I used 1 tbs of Old Bay, 1 tbs margarine, prawns, left out the red pepper flakes, and used Marsala wine since that is what I had open. This turned out fantastic. I loved it! I served over pasta with bread, but as others have said, the sauce is the best part, so you'll want some crusty bread with pasta or rice for this--something that will absorb the awesome flavor of the sauce. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States