Val's Hungarian Jewish Chopped Liver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Really close to the one I grew up on, I just have to figure out what was different.... I think my mom used to put a little mayo in it as well. I really enjoyed it. Thanks from one Val to another. :) This was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Who ever heard of butter in real Jewish chopped liver? My grandmother would turn over in her grave. It NEEDS chicken shmaltz ( fat) please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I made both this recipe (Val's Hungarian Jewish Chopped Liver) and Grandma's Chopped Liver for a gathering of six friends, including 3 chopped-liver lovers, 2 who'd never had it, and one who grew up with it but does NOT like it. Everyone was required to taste it, and I took a vote on who liked which one the best. All 6 people declared both recipes delicious, but two people voted this one their favorite. I didn't have Hungarian paprika in the house, so I used 1 T of plain paprika. Next time, I will try Hungarian just to taste the difference. I was hesitant about adding the parsley. I was worried that it might overpower the other flavors, but I was wrong. It blended nicely in the background. I might try sauteing celery with the onion next time just to add another layer of flavor. This is definitely a great recipe, and I'll be making it again when I have friends over. However, Grandmas Chopped Liver is my favorite recipe. But I would gladly eat both--and lots of 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This tastes just like the Chopped Liver at the Deli. I enjoyed it on Jewish Rye bread... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HorologyGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I was trying to find a recipe to duplicate the chopped liver we used to buy when we lived in South Florida. This was right on target. It was a little dry and my husband insisted that the store bought stuff was a little "sweet" so we added about two tablespoons of sweet gherkin brine. Once the livers were cooked and sorted out we put it all in a food processer but be careful not to make mush. Also, I forgot the paprika (but mine was so old it probably had no flavor anyway). A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
this recipe is outstanding exactly as written, Like other reviewers I found the result a little dry... that being said, the second time through I made the following modifications. 1. as a single person the recipe makes too much for me to eat in a week. So I used 400g of liver and one cup of chopped onion, 4 chopped cloves of garlic for the first step. When my livers where mostly done I added 1 tablespoon of white vinegar, 1/2 tablespoon of tomato paste in 1/2 cup of water to the pan with about a teaspoon of grey salt and let simmer for a couple of minutes until the liver was barely pink in the middle. (if you don't live in Saudi Arabia you could use 1/2 cup of white wine.) I removed the contents of the pan to a large bowl and let it cook while 2. I separated the cooked egg yokes from the whites - mashed the yokes with a fork and chopped the whites very fine. 3. mashed the livers with a potato masher until an even, but still fairly course texture before incorporating the egg yokes, then the egg whites and finally one small minced onion with a rubber spatula - basically beating in air and refining the texture with each addition, ending with the addition of 2 teaspoons of normal paprika and one teaspoon of smoked mexican chili (ground). It definitely tastes better the next day but it was pretty good right out of the bowl. I let it come to room temperature before serving. I only used parsley as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This was great. Fairly easy and Well Cheap to make. I ended up with a ton of Chopped Liver which is fine because so many people wanted to take some home. I added 1/2 stick of Butter mashed in with the livers. It was definitely better the next day after it had time to for the flavours to meld. I will make this again. I wish my Mommo was alive she would have gone nuts for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made it exactly as indicated. It was pretty good but a bit too dry for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Excellent! I have been looking for a recipe to make like my mothers. This was great and simple. I used a little less paprika and I like less raw onion. Other than that, this was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
For this recipe to be KOSHER the butter should be substituted. Butter and all dairy products are not to be cooked with meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States