Val's Hungarian Jewish Chopped Liver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
"Val's Hungarian Jewish Chopped Liver" has a delicious strong paprika flavor (no unpleasant "liverish" flavor), and freezes very well (at least my smooth version froze very well). I did not like the lumpy texture, so I processed mine to make it smooth in my food processor. I would not hesitate to make this recipe again, although I will be inclined to change it up a little bit according to my own personal taste. Thanks Valerie Alia for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Really close to the one I grew up on, I just have to figure out what was different.... I think my mom used to put a little mayo in it as well. I really enjoyed it. Thanks from one Val to another. :) This was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Who ever heard of butter in real Jewish chopped liver? My grandmother would turn over in her grave. It NEEDS chicken shmaltz ( fat) please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I made both this recipe (Val's Hungarian Jewish Chopped Liver) and Grandma's Chopped Liver for a gathering of six friends, including 3 chopped-liver lovers, 2 who'd never had it, and one who grew up with it but does NOT like it. Everyone was required to taste it, and I took a vote on who liked which one the best. All 6 people declared both recipes delicious, but two people voted this one their favorite. I didn't have Hungarian paprika in the house, so I used 1 T of plain paprika. Next time, I will try Hungarian just to taste the difference. I was hesitant about adding the parsley. I was worried that it might overpower the other flavors, but I was wrong. It blended nicely in the background. I might try sauteing celery with the onion next time just to add another layer of flavor. This is definitely a great recipe, and I'll be making it again when I have friends over. However, Grandmas Chopped Liver is my favorite recipe. But I would gladly eat both--and lots of 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This tastes just like the Chopped Liver at the Deli. I enjoyed it on Jewish Rye bread... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Edmonds Rodgers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I was trying to find a recipe to duplicate the chopped liver we used to buy when we lived in South Florida. This was right on target. It was a little dry and my husband insisted that the store bought stuff was a little "sweet" so we added about two tablespoons of sweet gherkin brine. Once the livers were cooked and sorted out we put it all in a food processer but be careful not to make mush. Also, I forgot the paprika (but mine was so old it probably had no flavor anyway). A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
this recipe is outstanding exactly as written, Like other reviewers I found the result a little dry... that being said, the second time through I made the following modifications. 1. as a single person the recipe makes too much for me to eat in a week. So I used 400g of liver and one cup of chopped onion, 4 chopped cloves of garlic for the first step. When my livers where mostly done I added 1 tablespoon of white vinegar, 1/2 tablespoon of tomato paste in 1/2 cup of water to the pan with about a teaspoon of grey salt and let simmer for a couple of minutes until the liver was barely pink in the middle. (if you don't live in Saudi Arabia you could use 1/2 cup of white wine.) I removed the contents of the pan to a large bowl and let it cook while 2. I separated the cooked egg yokes from the whites - mashed the yokes with a fork and chopped the whites very fine. 3. mashed the livers with a potato masher until an even, but still fairly course texture before incorporating the egg yokes, then the egg whites and finally one small minced onion with a rubber spatula - basically beating in air and refining the texture with each addition, ending with the addition of 2 teaspoons of normal paprika and one teaspoon of smoked mexican chili (ground). It definitely tastes better the next day but it was pretty good right out of the bowl. I let it come to room temperature before serving. I only used parsley as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This was great. Fairly easy and Well Cheap to make. I ended up with a ton of Chopped Liver which is fine because so many people wanted to take some home. I added 1/2 stick of Butter mashed in with the livers. It was definitely better the next day after it had time to for the flavours to meld. I will make this again. I wish my Mommo was alive she would have gone nuts for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made it exactly as indicated. It was pretty good but a bit too dry for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Excellent! I have been looking for a recipe to make like my mothers. This was great and simple. I used a little less paprika and I like less raw onion. Other than that, this was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States