Val's Hungarian Jewish Chopped Liver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This was very good. I made the full version as written, And the instructions are great and it came out yummy. My mother-in-law makes a simpler version with only butter, onion, chicken livers, eggs, paprika and salt/pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBOMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This was a very good appetizer for my guests. I don't eat liver myself but I was convinced to give it a little taste. I'm still not a liver fan but if I "had" to eat it this would be the only way I would take it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Very good. A couple of tips, soak your chicken livers in milk anywhere from 2 hours to overnight, it makes the flavor creamier and more delicate. I made this into a pate and i used a food processor, it is just easier. This recipes makes MUCH more than for 6 people, more like a small army of 30.I gave it away to neighbors and we still have a ton left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
With out question, this is the chopped liver I had in PA when I was a kid! Rich and flavorful. I made this then went to the store for sandwhich fixens and a roast to make Beef Wellington with it tonite and good deli sandwiches for the week. It can be used as a Pate' it is so good. I like it a little more minced that the author but it's good either way. It makes a lot so plan on using it in more reciepts or having freinds over! Also, if you have pets, they will tackel you to get at it. The smell is that wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This recipe was wonderful! I have never been a fan of liver, but my husband always has been, so I thought I would try this for him. But this recipe actually won over my taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Res

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I never had chopped liver before, altho I love liver. This recipe wasn't as strong-tasting as I anticipated. Easy & tasty. My hubby hates liver, so I get it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
I made this for my hubby hoping to enojy it myself. I couldn't eat it b/c i still remember what it looked like uncooked! Smells good but VERY dry! Not at all like i've eaten before or expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZYJ212

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
This turned out very good. I may have over salted it a bit, but I rectified that by adding about a quarter cup of white wine. This made it really good and helped the consistency as well. Don't rate this recipe until you've tried it chilled, the flavor really comes together. Everyone I shared it with loved it! It was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
this is fantastic but we put it on crackers or little pumpernickel bread love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
I don't know what I did wrong - I followed the recipe to the letter - but this was just horrible. I'm a big fan of chicken liver, but this tasted terrible. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States