Val's Hungarian Jewish Chopped Liver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Who ever heard of butter in real Jewish chopped liver? My grandmother would turn over in her grave. It NEEDS chicken shmaltz ( fat) please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I made both this recipe (Val's Hungarian Jewish Chopped Liver) and Grandma's Chopped Liver for a gathering of six friends, including 3 chopped-liver lovers, 2 who'd never had it, and one who grew up with it but does NOT like it. Everyone was required to taste it, and I took a vote on who liked which one the best. All 6 people declared both recipes delicious, but two people voted this one their favorite. I didn't have Hungarian paprika in the house, so I used 1 T of plain paprika. Next time, I will try Hungarian just to taste the difference. I was hesitant about adding the parsley. I was worried that it might overpower the other flavors, but I was wrong. It blended nicely in the background. I might try sauteing celery with the onion next time just to add another layer of flavor. This is definitely a great recipe, and I'll be making it again when I have friends over. However, Grandmas Chopped Liver is my favorite recipe. But I would gladly eat both--and lots of 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This tastes just like the Chopped Liver at the Deli. I enjoyed it on Jewish Rye bread... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HorologyGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I was trying to find a recipe to duplicate the chopped liver we used to buy when we lived in South Florida. This was right on target. It was a little dry and my husband insisted that the store bought stuff was a little "sweet" so we added about two tablespoons of sweet gherkin brine. Once the livers were cooked and sorted out we put it all in a food processer but be careful not to make mush. Also, I forgot the paprika (but mine was so old it probably had no flavor anyway). A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
this recipe is outstanding exactly as written, Like other reviewers I found the result a little dry... that being said, the second time through I made the following modifications. 1. as a single person the recipe makes too much for me to eat in a week. So I used 400g of liver and one cup of chopped onion, 4 chopped cloves of garlic for the first step. When my livers where mostly done I added 1 tablespoon of white vinegar, 1/2 tablespoon of tomato paste in 1/2 cup of water to the pan with about a teaspoon of grey salt and let simmer for a couple of minutes until the liver was barely pink in the middle. (if you don't live in Saudi Arabia you could use 1/2 cup of white wine.) I removed the contents of the pan to a large bowl and let it cook while 2. I separated the cooked egg yokes from the whites - mashed the yokes with a fork and chopped the whites very fine. 3. mashed the livers with a potato masher until an even, but still fairly course texture before incorporating the egg yokes, then the egg whites and finally one small minced onion with a rubber spatula - basically beating in air and refining the texture with each addition, ending with the addition of 2 teaspoons of normal paprika and one teaspoon of smoked mexican chili (ground). It definitely tastes better the next day but it was pretty good right out of the bowl. I let it come to room temperature before serving. I only used parsley as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This was great. Fairly easy and Well Cheap to make. I ended up with a ton of Chopped Liver which is fine because so many people wanted to take some home. I added 1/2 stick of Butter mashed in with the livers. It was definitely better the next day after it had time to for the flavours to meld. I will make this again. I wish my Mommo was alive she would have gone nuts for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made it exactly as indicated. It was pretty good but a bit too dry for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Excellent! I have been looking for a recipe to make like my mothers. This was great and simple. I used a little less paprika and I like less raw onion. Other than that, this was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
For this recipe to be KOSHER the butter should be substituted. Butter and all dairy products are not to be cooked with meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is truly a most wonderful chopped liver recipe altho I must admit that I do like mine without lumps so I use my food processor. I also enjoy adding a bit of garlic and some cognac. Thank you Valerie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States