Valerio's Pulled Pork Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This is the best slaw. Ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Great flavours- but a bit spicy for kids. Definitely not a sweet sauce. Everyone liked it except for next time I would use less hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
The rub and cooking liquid was great. The cole slaw and BBQ sauce had way too much salt and vinegar. I followed the recipes exactly! I will make the meat again but I will find a cole slaw and bbq sauce that I like better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
The rub = 5, the cooking liquid = 5 (could use a little more sweetness), and bbq = 5 (it's great on the pork..but not so good alone). It's the cole slaw dressing that I really didn't like. Everything else was excellent! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I have made this for my kids when they were growing up. they love it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Just looking at the ingredients in this one made my mouth water in anticipation. We aren't real spice lovers in this house but I do love flavor so I cut the black pepper, red pepper flakes and salt in 1/2 and there was plenty of spice for us. Even though it was 3 T shy of rub there was still plenty for my 3-1/2 # roast. I didn't have any hot sauce but I did have a jar of Herdez Traditonal Chipotle Mexican Cooking Sauce in the house that I used in it's place. I also didn't have beef broth and had chicken broth to use up. My maple syrup was bad so I skipped that step knowing with the honey and molasses there would be plenty sweetness. There was plenty (maybe too much) liquid for the amount of meat and I really think you could getaway with 1/2-3/4 the amount of liquid (at least for the electric pressure cooker). For the coleslaw mix I cut up my own cabbage and carrots. I used an electric pressure cooker that had presets that only allowed pressure cooking up to 40 minutes and I have no idea if that was a low pressure or not. I ran my cycle twice for a total of 80 minutes under pressure. It could have used about 20 - 30 more minutes but it was tender and shreddable as is. I think there was a good balance of sweet and spicy. This is the first time we've ever had coleslaw on pulled pork sandwich and I really enjoyed. Even though I made a few alterations to the recipe we enjoyed it. Thank you for the keeper Valerio!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe. The one change I made was only use a few drops of hot sauce a 1/2 cup of my hot sauce would have been over whelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This is an excellent bbq! I had only a slight adjustment when I believed the sauce to be too acidic. I added three tbs of commercial bbq sauce and all was well! I have no problem recommending this recipe to any bbq aficionado. Thank you, Valerio!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Oh WOW. WOW. This was amazing. The sweet/spicy combo was perfect. I made this exactly as written, except in the slow cooker. (Haven't used my pressure cooker yet!) Everything turned out wonderful. This is a keeper for sure. "Best pulled pork sandwich I've ever had." I'll be using the left overs to put on a pizza crust later! YUM YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Doing this for the second time in just a few weeks! This will be a family favorite! I use a slow cooker, just combine all ing. turn on and enjoy later! I have used both commercial BBQ sauces as well as this (I did add liquid smoke). This is most definately worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trevorton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pulled Pork Pesto Sandwich

The best of the South meets the freshest flavors of Italy.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States