Valerio's Pulled Pork Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Oh WOW. WOW. This was amazing. The sweet/spicy combo was perfect. I made this exactly as written, except in the slow cooker. (Haven't used my pressure cooker yet!) Everything turned out wonderful. This is a keeper for sure. "Best pulled pork sandwich I've ever had." I'll be using the left overs to put on a pizza crust later! YUM YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Really good! I made the pork and used it for Pork tacos and then next night pulled pork sandwiches. Perfect blend of sweet and spicy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This got huge thumbs up! I didn't need to make be bbq sauce, it is so good without it!! I've tried so many pulled pork recipes and this is by far the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Ohio, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This is an excellent bbq! I had only a slight adjustment when I believed the sauce to be too acidic. I added three tbs of commercial bbq sauce and all was well! I have no problem recommending this recipe to any bbq aficionado. Thank you, Valerio!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Very Good, Loved It. Thanks Rox
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxnro

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This is the first meal I prepared in my pressure cooker and it was a huge hit! The sauce is well balanced and the slaw adds just the right amount of crunch to the hearty pork. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
We really like this recipe. I find that 1 Tbsp. of each of the dry rub ingredients is plenty. Also, I only pressure cook the meat for about 1 hour. We usually don't make the bbq sauce because we have some excellent sauce on hand, but we make the cole slaw using 1/2 the mayo and dressing ingredients, and also bake home-made kaiser rolls. I do have a question, however. I was wondering if I am correct in assuming that the pork does NOT get returned to the cooking liquid? I noticed that some recipes have the shredded pork stay warm in the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Just looking at the ingredients in this one made my mouth water in anticipation. We aren't real spice lovers in this house but I do love flavor so I cut the black pepper, red pepper flakes and salt in 1/2 and there was plenty of spice for us. Even though it was 3 T shy of rub there was still plenty for my 3-1/2 # roast. I didn't have any hot sauce but I did have a jar of Herdez Traditonal Chipotle Mexican Cooking Sauce in the house that I used in it's place. I also didn't have beef broth and had chicken broth to use up. My maple syrup was bad so I skipped that step knowing with the honey and molasses there would be plenty sweetness. There was plenty (maybe too much) liquid for the amount of meat and I really think you could getaway with 1/2-3/4 the amount of liquid (at least for the electric pressure cooker). For the coleslaw mix I cut up my own cabbage and carrots. I used an electric pressure cooker that had presets that only allowed pressure cooking up to 40 minutes and I have no idea if that was a low pressure or not. I ran my cycle twice for a total of 80 minutes under pressure. It could have used about 20 - 30 more minutes but it was tender and shreddable as is. I think there was a good balance of sweet and spicy. This is the first time we've ever had coleslaw on pulled pork sandwich and I really enjoyed. Even though I made a few alterations to the recipe we enjoyed it. Thank you for the keeper Valerio!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe. The one change I made was only use a few drops of hot sauce a 1/2 cup of my hot sauce would have been over whelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Doing this for the second time in just a few weeks! This will be a family favorite! I use a slow cooker, just combine all ing. turn on and enjoy later! I have used both commercial BBQ sauces as well as this (I did add liquid smoke). This is most definately worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trevorton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pulled Pork Pesto Sandwich

The best of the South meets the freshest flavors of Italy.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States