Valerie's Fruit Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
I was very excited to try this recipe but had a few problems with it. Even after mixing it in my KitchenAid mixer, there were tiny cream cheese lumps throughout that I had a hard time getting rid of. I also thought the dip had a bit of an artifical taste - not sure if that was from the pudding or the whipped topping; I added a dash of vanilla and thought that helped. My husband on the other hand loved it and was eating it out of a bowl with a spoon - no fruit. He would give the recipe at least four stars. I think kids would really love this recipe - good way to get them to eat their fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
This one will not make it in the recipe book. We did not care for it at all. Tried it on apples and bananas and honestly...would have rather eaten them plain....sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
So very yummy! I could eat the whole bowl!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
I read some of the other reviews, and decided to use only 1/2 the sugar. I also added about 2 teaspoons of maraschino cherry juice to try to add some color to the dip. It turned out fantastic! There are only a few comments I would like to add: First, this makes a ton of dip. I made this recipe in a 2.5 quart mixing bowl and it was nearly filled to the top with the dip. Second, the color without the maraschino cherry juice is sort of a cream color. The small amount of juice I added did very little to change the color, although it did impart some extra flavor. Third, the dip does not have a very creamy consistency unless you leave it sit out for awhile before serving (say 30 minutes). I made this the night before the party, and because of the Cool Whip in it, it stiffened up overnight in the fridge. So just keep in mind that if you make the dip ahead of time and refrigerate it, you will probably want to sit it out a bit before you want to serve it. Overall, this was an excellent recipe, and I received several good comments on it from my friends. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This was really good and easy. The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swampscott, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hudson, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Served this with a fruit platter for christmas breakfast and it went off like a charm. There was none left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I made this and it was awesome. I followed the other suggestions and beat the cream cheese and milk together first to eliminate the lumps and then I reduced the sugar to a 1/2 cup. Like one of the other reviewers - I found myself just eating it by itself with a spoon! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
The more I eat this fruit dip, the more I love it! Very creamy and if you use fat free milk, cream cheese, and cool whip, you are left feeling a little less guilty! Best with strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Great stuff!! Made this for my mother's 70th birthday party in August. And I am still getting compliments and request's for this. Put it next to the fruit platter, but no one knew what it was for. They were putting it on the jello, and just eating it by itself. Needless to say there was none left, and one guest took a bowl home. Creaming the cream cheese is a must, or it will end up lumpy, but still delicious. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE99901

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States