Valentino's Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
My first homemade pizza crust turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margieatk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Followed recipe exactly and it came out too doughy in the center and too burnt on the outside. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Easy, Tastes awesome, Perfect soft to crisp ratio if you watch the oven timing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I followed the recipe ingredients exactly, but let it rest for closer to 20-25 minutes. I spread the dough out onto a lightly oiled pan sprinkled with corn meal. Then I sprinkled the top of the dough with oregano, basil, and a little garlic powder. Baked on the lower rack of the oven for 5 minutes, then took out and added sauce, minced garlic, and mozzarella & provolone cheeses, and brushed the crust edges with a little olive oil. Baked for approx 14 more minutes on the middle rack. Pizza was very good, and the crust was very thick, which I like. So if you like thin crusts, you'll want to use a very large pan or make two pizzas with this recipe. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittneyT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I add Italian seasoning to the crust before I mix it together and it gives it a nice flavor without adding a bunch of salt. I also recommend adding the salt to the flour instead of the yeast, since salt kills yeast. It makes for a more traditional flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This was a quick and easy pizza crust to make. I really had a craving for pizza today. I used whole wheat flour when I made my crust and it came out great! To those people who said the crust didnt have any flavor well of course you have to add to some herbs or something to give it a taste. Before I put my toppings and cheese on I spread some pesto the crust and it came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Very good...easy...loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This is our favorite crust recipe! We make it as is, then brush melted butter and sprinkle garlic around the edges of the rolled out crust before we load it. We've also made garlic bread sticks with it by stiring in some garlic powder, then rolling it out and baking it for about 10 minutes, then coating it in melted butter minced garlic mixture. Let it sit, then repeat a few times, then sprinkle with garlic powder and finish baking!! Any way you fix this crust it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I have tried a lot of different recipes for pizza crust before and this one is tops. I will say before I start that the first time I made this recipe I followed the directions as written except I got busy during the 10 min rise time and it ended up being more like 30 or 40 min. It turned out so good that I decided to just stick with the extra rise time, each time I've made it. This makes a lot of dough. I usually double the batch and freeze half of it. Mine has always come out thick like a deep dish pizza, however, it's not to dense. My husband raves about how good the pizza is every time I make it. Says it's better than any where we could order in or get take out from. My most recent experiment with this recipe was to try and make it a little more healthy. So I used one cup of whole wheat flour and a cup and a half of spelt flour, I double the batch so the other 2.5 cups were A.P. flour. It really worked well and I think next time I'll just do away with the A.P. flour all together. Additionally on my last experiment with this recipe I also substituted the sugar for honey. It worked out quite nicely. If you don't want a thick crust then you can just cut the rise time or let it rise and then just spread the dough out real thin. If you want it thin you can probably get almost 2 pizza out of the recipe as listed. Thank you Jody for sharing this very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I make this often. The family loves it. I usually add some herbs and garlic powder to the dough. I roll it out on corn meal. So good! I do it in my bread maker on the dough setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 546) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States