Valentino's Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
As a qualifier, please note that I'm yeast recipe challenged - I simply cannot get dough recipes to turn out right no matter what I try. This recipe was so easy that even I made an unbelievably tasty, flaky pizza from scratch in under one hour. I followed all the steps exactly and used a Kitchenaid mixer dough attachment just until the dough was blended (not to over mix). I then spread this perfect amount of dough for 1 two person pizza onto a pizza pan (holes on bottom) and brushed it with olive oil seasoned with all sorts of Italian herbs and roasted garlic, etc. before adding toppings. Baked for 15 mins at 400 and it was phenomenal texture, taste and thickness (imagine medium thick with an end piece no one wants to waste). My picky husband loved it too. It could not have been more straightforward or tastier. Please try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I love this pizza crust! Although, and this could be considered a con - it is so easy to put together I probably have it too often, now! I don't have a pizza stone, so I split the dough in two and use a half-sheet baking sheet for one of them, which is perfectly sized. I usually make it just for me, and put half in a covered bowl in the fridge, where it keeps fine for a couple of days. I recommend adding some oregano, basil, and/or thyme to the dough itself, rather than sprinkling on top. I haven't tried a dessert variation yet, but it's been good with every savory topping I've tried so far. Highly recommended. Bit of advice, though - don't make it too thick. I like 'deep dish' crusts, but this can be a bit too dense and chewy even for me if I don't shape it thinly. Trust me, even rolled thin, it is very good, and quite sturdy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Great! Foolproof! And definately good on a pizza stone. Double the batch and have extra for Olive-Garden-like breadsticks. (brush with garlic butter and sprinkle on a little cornmeal and parsley.) Or roll then into pencils for crunchy breadsticks. We made a stuffed-crust by rolling string cheese in it around the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwayneNAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Simple and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
WOW!!! This is how I make my pizza crust. Only thing I do differently is use 1 tsp of sugar. I don't have a sweet tooth. I also cut the dough in 1/2 to make 2 pizzas because hubby likes a thin crust. I like both. A keeper recipe no doubt! I make mine on a pizza stone or sometimes on a air bake pizza pan (small holes in pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mags

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This dough turns out great, and it is just the right amount for one pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Great pizza crust. Would have liked it a little more crispy on the bottom but didn't use cornmeal on the pan so need to try it again. I will be using this to make pizza from now on either way. You can't beat the simplicity of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Love this crust! I love how quick and easy it is and is both a little crispy and a little chewy. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Such a great pizza crust! Whole family ate it and no one left the crust behind. Husband said it tasted like a pizza from a pizzeria. I followed the recipe exactly except I did let it rise for about an hour instead of only 10 minutes--I am not sure if that makes a big difference or not. My mom and dad liked it so well, we planned a big family pizza making get together so everyone could try it. If you are looking for a nice tender crust that is not too bready, chewy, tough, or crunchy, this is the one for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
We make homemade pizza every Friday night and have experimented with many different ways make crust, but this one is the winner! The only changes I made to the way the recipe was written was I let the dough rise for about 30 minutes, and before I put the pizza in the oven I brushed the edges of the crust with a little butter and a tiny bit of salt. This is my new go-to pizza crust recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L_Bow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 568) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States