Valentino's Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I have tried a lot of different recipes for pizza crust before and this one is tops. I will say before I start that the first time I made this recipe I followed the directions as written except I got busy during the 10 min rise time and it ended up being more like 30 or 40 min. It turned out so good that I decided to just stick with the extra rise time, each time I've made it. This makes a lot of dough. I usually double the batch and freeze half of it. Mine has always come out thick like a deep dish pizza, however, it's not to dense. My husband raves about how good the pizza is every time I make it. Says it's better than any where we could order in or get take out from. My most recent experiment with this recipe was to try and make it a little more healthy. So I used one cup of whole wheat flour and a cup and a half of spelt flour, I double the batch so the other 2.5 cups were A.P. flour. It really worked well and I think next time I'll just do away with the A.P. flour all together. Additionally on my last experiment with this recipe I also substituted the sugar for honey. It worked out quite nicely. If you don't want a thick crust then you can just cut the rise time or let it rise and then just spread the dough out real thin. If you want it thin you can probably get almost 2 pizza out of the recipe as listed. Thank you Jody for sharing this very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I make this often. The family loves it. I usually add some herbs and garlic powder to the dough. I roll it out on corn meal. So good! I do it in my bread maker on the dough setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Turned out perfect, I will be using this recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I love it! I love it! I love it! Wow! Everything I want in a pizza crust. Easy to make and really tasty. I'm no where near being Italian so I'm not sure how "Italian" this is but it works for me. Thank you. P.S. I did add Italian seasoning and some cheese to the dough. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
My husband really liked the crust I used it to make Stromboli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Great crust. I didn't change anything in the recipe and it came out just perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Real tasty except it always takes about 40min for mine to cook all the way through. I usually have a hard crust and an overly soft middle of my pizza. Not sure what I'm doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I doubled the recipe to make two large pizzas and they turned out great! The only thing I did different was to use bread flour because that is what I had. I will definately throw away all of my other pizza crust recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Great crust. Really easy to prepare and doesn't take a lot of time to rise. A big hit at the pizza party I had the other day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Excellent dough recipe for thin crust pizza! It rolls out great. Perfect taste and texture. It rises just the right amount. I cooked it on an oiled pizza sheet and brushed oil on the crust. Baked it for 15 minutes. Mmmmm. Thank you so much for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 568) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States