Valentine Heart Necklaces Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
My daughter and I made these yesterday for Valentine's Day! What a fun afternoon! I only let the dough chill for 2 hours (if that) and it rolled with ease. Only two minor problems: First, I used the straw to make the hole for the necklaces but as they baked, the holes closed together anyway and they were tricky to re-do them when they were done baking. Second, they were soooo soft (a good thing if your not trying to do the necklace part), which made it difficult to string the licorce through the hole. After two attempts with the necklace stuff, we just gave up and frosted the rest without the licorce. Still, these were darn good cookies that even I = the non-cookie lover, had to admire. Would make these again! Thanks Jessica for the creative and fun Valentine project!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
The greatest idea for kids instead of paper valentines!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
The cookies and frosting are absolutely delicious. The cookies may even be the best sugar/shortbread cookies that I have ever tasted. I will be making these cookies and frosting again and again. However, making the necklaces was very time consuming (adorable but time consuming). I could not find the long string licorice so I ended up having to tie 3 short strands together for each cookie which took a long time. The holes in the cookies also closed up but it was easy to open them using a pointed knife inserted in the back of the cookie and twisting gently. If you have a meyer lemon tree, you just have to make these cookies using the peel/zest from the meyer lemon. I still cannot believe how tasty these cookies are and I am not a fan of lemon cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
This recipe was wonderful!! I made these for my 4 yr old's ballet class and they worked out great! After the cookies came out of the oven I re-pierced them with the straw to make the hole a little larger. The licorice slid through without a problem. I then tied the necklace to a Valentine treat bag to add a little pizzaz. Thank you for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Thank you so much for this fun and delicious recipe! (I doubled the cookie recipe.) The cookies themselves are divine, I got many compliments on the taste of the cookie. Of course the children loved the looks of everything. We had no problem using the straw, etc. What a fun activity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
These necklaces were so easy to make and my niece had a blast! For the frosting I used thick royal icing- worked out great. The cookies tasted good too- the kids and the adults were all happy- what a deal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wells, Maine, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
This was easy and yummy. I made two batches for Valentines. On the second batch I added a pinch of salt to the wet ingredients and used only 3/4 tsp of baking powder (I could taste it with the full 1 tsp) I did not have any lemon zest and it came out fine without. I also used a smaller heart cutter to make a heart 'window' in the cookie necklace on some, it was so cute :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I made these cookies, but not the necklaces. They were great! The dough was very easy to work with too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Great sugar cookies - more like shortbread. My husband liked them better with the lemon zest, which I didn't have the first time. We're now making them for my daughter's class. Great recipe and very easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
This idea Jessica, is just too sweet for words! I didn't pierce the hole until they were out of the oven, as the cookies were still nice and soft. Believe it or not, I made these for my teen to take to school and give out to her best buds. I packed the rest of the cookies that were not made into necklaces into a container so she could share them with her lunch table. A couple of heart shaped turkey sandwiches (using my cookie cutter) and a little "love note" made her day. This just proves that even the big kids get a kick out of these special touches. Thanks so much Jessica and Happy Valentines Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States