Valentine Heart Necklaces Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
This idea Jessica, is just too sweet for words! I didn't pierce the hole until they were out of the oven, as the cookies were still nice and soft. Believe it or not, I made these for my teen to take to school and give out to her best buds. I packed the rest of the cookies that were not made into necklaces into a container so she could share them with her lunch table. A couple of heart shaped turkey sandwiches (using my cookie cutter) and a little "love note" made her day. This just proves that even the big kids get a kick out of these special touches. Thanks so much Jessica and Happy Valentines Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
This was easy and yummy. I made two batches for Valentines. On the second batch I added a pinch of salt to the wet ingredients and used only 3/4 tsp of baking powder (I could taste it with the full 1 tsp) I did not have any lemon zest and it came out fine without. I also used a smaller heart cutter to make a heart 'window' in the cookie necklace on some, it was so cute :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
The cookies and frosting are absolutely delicious. The cookies may even be the best sugar/shortbread cookies that I have ever tasted. I will be making these cookies and frosting again and again. However, making the necklaces was very time consuming (adorable but time consuming). I could not find the long string licorice so I ended up having to tie 3 short strands together for each cookie which took a long time. The holes in the cookies also closed up but it was easy to open them using a pointed knife inserted in the back of the cookie and twisting gently. If you have a meyer lemon tree, you just have to make these cookies using the peel/zest from the meyer lemon. I still cannot believe how tasty these cookies are and I am not a fan of lemon cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
A wonderful sugar cookie recipe. I love the idea of maing it into a necklace to give to friends. I made this with my cooking 4-H club and they enjoyed it and had loads of fun! I omitted the frosting and added 10 drops of red food coloring to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Photo by Jennifer Allgrunn
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
So much fun to make! i used some ribbin. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Allgrunn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
These cookies are great! I made these for my nephew's kindergarten class..and they loved them! These cookies are great becuase they're sturdy enough to be handled by little kids, yet still moist and flavorful! The only changes I made was I used orange extract in place of the lemon zest (I didn't have any), and they had just a nice subtle orange flavor. These cookies are a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
These necklaces were so easy to make and my niece had a blast! For the frosting I used thick royal icing- worked out great. The cookies tasted good too- the kids and the adults were all happy- what a deal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wells, Maine, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crystal
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
These where a big hit at my son's Valentines party at school! they tasted great and where fun to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Thank you for a very cute recipe idea! They turned out really well and Im very happy with this recipe! The dough was not sticky, it was easy to handle, roll and cut out the heart shapes! I tinted the dough with pink Wiltons concentrationed paste. I made larger hearts and cut out the center with a small cutter for some and for the others I used 1" heart cutter and I made the hole (with a straw) prior to baking and it didn't close up. I used red "shoelace' licorice for the necklace and it made the most cutest cookie presentation ever! Happy Valentine's day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Great Valentine craft/gift. We made a double batch for our girls to make for their classmates. The small sized heart cookie cutters were perfect for making the pendants. We put 2 different sized/colored cookies on each necklace. We live in a very small town and couldn't get red lace licorice, so we threaded them on variegated yarn. it worked just fine. As for the recipe, it was wonderful as directed. I love the shortbread cookie. I will be making it often! I did make some hearts and heart outline cookies and left them unfrosted. I put raspberry preserves on the full cookie and layered the open heart cookie on top. Such a light sweet take on this cookie. Great with a cup of tea or coffee. We will be making these again! Thanks Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States