Valentine Heart Necklaces Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
These are just perfect! I made a batch of them for my son to take for his preschool Valentine party. I used ribbon instead of licorice. My husband ate one and liked the flavor of them so well that he asked me to make another batch for him to take to work (minus the ribbons). I made mine without frosting, just a coarse colored sugar sprinkled on before baking. Also, in the second batch, I didn't have a lemon, so I used 1/2 tsp orange extract and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. These are just the right size and flavor for enjoying with a cup of coffee. Love 'em! Nice job with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Thank you for a very cute recipe idea! They turned out really well and Im very happy with this recipe! The dough was not sticky, it was easy to handle, roll and cut out the heart shapes! I tinted the dough with pink Wiltons concentrationed paste. I made larger hearts and cut out the center with a small cutter for some and for the others I used 1" heart cutter and I made the hole (with a straw) prior to baking and it didn't close up. I used red "shoelace' licorice for the necklace and it made the most cutest cookie presentation ever! Happy Valentine's day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I was trying to find a cookie that would ship well and these are perfect! My husband loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Sooooooo good! It was a little time consuming but well worth it. The holes were easy enough to make, I simply used a straw and than baked them after piercing the hole and the hole didn't close up at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
A wonderful sugar cookie recipe. I love the idea of maing it into a necklace to give to friends. I made this with my cooking 4-H club and they enjoyed it and had loads of fun! I omitted the frosting and added 10 drops of red food coloring to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
It may be because I am a busy mother of twins working full time but I found this recipe very time consuming. The cookies are good and look good but I don't think I will go into so much trouble next year. My 3 yrs old were very impressed and proudly brought them to daycare today as Valentine's Day presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Allgrunn
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
So much fun to make! i used some ribbin. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Allgrunn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
These cookies are great! I made these for my nephew's kindergarten class..and they loved them! These cookies are great becuase they're sturdy enough to be handled by little kids, yet still moist and flavorful! The only changes I made was I used orange extract in place of the lemon zest (I didn't have any), and they had just a nice subtle orange flavor. These cookies are a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
This idea Jessica, is just too sweet for words! I didn't pierce the hole until they were out of the oven, as the cookies were still nice and soft. Believe it or not, I made these for my teen to take to school and give out to her best buds. I packed the rest of the cookies that were not made into necklaces into a container so she could share them with her lunch table. A couple of heart shaped turkey sandwiches (using my cookie cutter) and a little "love note" made her day. This just proves that even the big kids get a kick out of these special touches. Thanks so much Jessica and Happy Valentines Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Great sugar cookies - more like shortbread. My husband liked them better with the lemon zest, which I didn't have the first time. We're now making them for my daughter's class. Great recipe and very easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States