Valencian Savory Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
These are really yummy! Make sure to squeeze all the "juice" out of the tomatoes as it makes sticking the dough together more difficult. Very good right out of the oven with some sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Really good and easy, and taste good with all different fillings. Be sure not to fill the empanadas too much, and be careful not to touch the edges with the filling or they will be hard to seal closed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I made these last night for a tapas party at my place, along with a couple of other "small plate"-type dishes. These really exceeded my expectations! I actually made the filling the night before, and I tried it for seasoning - it tasted fine, but not great. We also went ahead and assembled them that night (using a fork to press down the edges to seal), and popped them in the fridge overnight. They came out GREAT! We served with sour cream and they were really tasty. Definitely came out to be more than the sum of its parts! Highly recommend! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This was an easy recipe to make and especially fun to make it with my husband. Dipping these in pizza sauce and/or sour cream is fun too. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cemetery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
If you are not a fan of refrigerated bread mixes (i.e. Pillsbury) this recipe is not for you. I thought it would be ok by the time we added sour cream & pico de gallo on the top, but I just could not get over that refrigerated dough taste. I might make this again, but I'll make my own dough in the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke789

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
These make for tasty little sandwiches. I ended up using crescent roll dough. My pizza dough had expired so it didn't work very well. Tasted great with the crescent roll dough, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I replaced the tomatoes with hash brown potatoes, and the hard boiled eggs with scrambled eggs cooked with the onion. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcrippes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Our whole family really enjoys this recipe. We also enjoy extracting the juice, warming it up, and serving it on top of the Empanadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I liked these, but it's a lot of work. Peeling, chopping, stretching, filling, and folding. I'll definitely wait to make these until I have an opportunity to cook in silence, but that doesn't happen much in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestic DIY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
These were yummy and super easy. I brushed them with egg before baking so they were shiny and lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Savory Bacon & Crab Bread Pudding Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States