VELVEETA® Down-Home Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Just average and just okay as written. Because I love my macaroni and cheese creamy I love it made with Velveeta. You can't ask for a smoother, creamier sauce. But a good macaroni and cheese can't just depend on the Velveeta. So...this was off to a good start but I made a couple of observations. First, the flour isn't necessary. At all. In fact, I found I needed more milk just to overcome the thickness the flour was responsible for. Second, this needed some cheesiness, and in the sauce, not just sprinkled on top. A good spoonful of King Arthur Flour's Vermont Cheddar Cheese Powder fixed that right up. (Love that stuff) Finally, and subjective perhaps, but I'm just not a fan of crushed Ritz crackers on my mac and cheese. I crushed up some good bakery croutons and used them for the topping instead. Once I monkeyed around with this it was to die for - creamy, smooth, full of cheesy flavor and a topping with a slight buttery crunch. Five stars with the above-mentioned modifications, but rather mediocre as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This recipe was awesome! My son's father said this was his new favorite meal (paired with a Arkansas Green Beans & Aussie Chicken, ~both recipes off this site). And he is somewhat hard to please at times, so to say his favorite, means a lot. The crushed crackers was a nice add on that id never tried before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nani22
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
My kids loved this! I increase the servings and used mini shells instead of elbows. Easy and super kid friendly. I also added some sea salt, pepper, and dried mustard to the flour to make the sauce. Creamy and delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
My husband loved the creamy cheesy flavor of this recipe and is actually looking forward to eating the leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Nice, simple and well liked. Will do again and again I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Begent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This recipe is definitely a good starting base. As others have said, it needs less flour, more milk and more Velveeta. I love the suggestion of adding jalapenos! I'll make this again, with the changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I tweaked this after reading the reviews. First off I made mine for 12 servings. I used three spoonfuls of flour, not overflowing spoonfuls either. I used 6 spoonfuls of butter, increased the milk by 1/4 of a cup, and finally increased the Velveeta by 4oz (or a 1/4). I then added hot sauce, ground mustard, pepper, and salt. (first time I made this) I added bacon and sharp cheddar cheese. Topped it off with crushed french onions (because I NEVER have Ritz). (Second time I made this) I included Jalapenos, mushrooms, onions, bacon, and diced ham. They both were amazing, but my husband prefers all the stuff in it. VERY VERY creamy and cheesy!!! I give it 4 stars because I tweaked it and felt it was better because I did :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This needs some major tweaking. NOT my favorite mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This is a great recipe! My family loved it we called dibs on the crunchy topping! I added more milk more cheese and a bit of cream, lessen the amount of flour. Added jalapeno chopped. NUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Best mac n cheese they've ever had...that was the consensus at my Thanksgiving table this year. Only thing wrong with it was that it was gone in a snap. Will double next time! Don't change a thing...it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States