VELVEETA® Down-Home Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Best Mac & Cheese recipe ever. I replaced elbow pasta with shells and substituted in half & half instead of milk. Its awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Nice, simple and well liked. Will do again and again I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Begent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This is the recipe my mom used all our lives, we topped it with either pulled apart bread chunks or cubed white bread, then drizzle with butter and top with paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ladysmith, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
loved it added more cheese just because!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I made this recipe because my boyfriend specifically requested a Velveeta Mac and Cheese. This is not my first pick for a Mac and Cheese but if you are a Velveeta fan this recipe will give you a great Velveeta Mac and Cheese. I added the shredded cheddar cheese on top to my liking and did not take an exact measurement of the shredded cheese. I also more than doubled the amount of Ritz cracker topping to my liking so that the cracker topping would cover the whole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This was terrible. I followed the recipe exactly and it looked SO GOOD pouring it in to the dish to bake it in. Oh, how I wish I had not baked it. Baking it dried it out, it was thick and disgusting, I had to cut it with my serving spatula. First time I have ever thrown away and entire meal. Made me sick to do so as I looked for recipes to make at home to save money. Only gave it one star because you can't give zero.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
My husband LOVES this recipe. By far the best Mac and Cheese! I used the Kraft 3-cheese cheddar and it was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This recipe is definitely a good starting base. As others have said, it needs less flour, more milk and more Velveeta. I love the suggestion of adding jalapenos! I'll make this again, with the changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This is a great recipe! My family loved it we called dibs on the crunchy topping! I added more milk more cheese and a bit of cream, lessen the amount of flour. Added jalapeno chopped. NUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Just average and just okay as written. Because I love my macaroni and cheese creamy I love it made with Velveeta. You can't ask for a smoother, creamier sauce. But a good macaroni and cheese can't just depend on the Velveeta. So...this was off to a good start but I made a couple of observations. First, the flour isn't necessary. At all. In fact, I found I needed more milk just to overcome the thickness the flour was responsible for. Second, this needed some cheesiness, and in the sauce, not just sprinkled on top. A good spoonful of King Arthur Flour's Vermont Cheddar Cheese Powder fixed that right up. (Love that stuff) Finally, and subjective perhaps, but I'm just not a fan of crushed Ritz crackers on my mac and cheese. I crushed up some good bakery croutons and used them for the topping instead. Once I monkeyed around with this it was to die for - creamy, smooth, full of cheesy flavor and a topping with a slight buttery crunch. Five stars with the above-mentioned modifications, but rather mediocre as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States