V-Eight Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
With this recipe do you do steps 2 AND 3 or steps 2 OR 3?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Like others, I have done a similar soup using regular V-8 juice, ground chuck, frozen mixed vegetables, but also frozen onions...salt and pepper to taste. The onions really make a difference, and frozen ones seem to do better than fresh for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
What a great base for anything you have in the pantry. I like simple recipes that inspire a cook's imagination. I sautéed chopped garlic then added 20 oz of ground turkey. Once the meat was browned I added Campbell's tomato juice, a can of chicken broth, a can of chopped tomatoes with green chiles, one can of black beans, frozen corn and a packet of McCormick's Mexican Fiesta Marinade (fajita seasoning would probably work too). After reaching a boil, I simmered for 25 minutes. I served topped with chopped cilantro and cheddar cheese. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Very bland. I added half an onion, half a bell pepper, 1/4 c celery cajun seasoning, basil, thyme, oregano and some beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Fuselier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I've been making this for years and everyone loves it! I saute an onion while browning the meat then add a can of sliced potatoes along with frozen veg and V-8. The only spice we add is salt and pepper. It is delicious! Truth: I pick out alot of the green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I made my soup by putting a can of sliced potatoes, 2 12 oz pkgs of frozen veggies, 1 lb. of ground beef and a packet of onion soup mix in my crock pot. Then I poured as much V8 in as would fit (not quite the whole container). I thought that this was great considering it's about as basic a soup as you can get. Next time I'll brown my beef with some Montreal Steak Seasoning for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
One of the easiest and tastiest recipes ever. The first time I made it exactly as written and it was excellent. I have made it with several alterations/additions since, and the best we've had yet is to keep the original recipe but use 1 1/2 pounds stew beef in lieu of the hamburg. It makes the recipe even simpler; no need to cook the beef first, just toss everything in the slow cooker, leave it on low for eight hours and it's perfect. Great reheated the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WALLFLOWER71

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Great starter recipe! The recipe by it's self is very blah, but I sprinkled in a decent amount of beef bullion, a large helping of diced onion, some cumin and a little green bell pepper. Turned into a very nice and hearty soup. Best part was it was extremely easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arinbotter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I've made a meatless version of this for years but I really like the addition of beef. I used round beef that was packaged in strips for stir frying. I cut the strips into bite sized pieces and then browned the meat in a little olive oil. The package of onion soup mix adds the needed flavor but I've also used various herbs(thyme, basil, or marjoram).I only use 1(16oz) bag of vegetables and any leftovers I have in the refrigerator. Serve with bread and salad and you have a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This was certainly easy, but lacked flavour for my family, so I changed it to suit our tastes. I added oriental vegetable mix, onion soup mix, garlic and a can of tomatoes. Thank you for a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States