V-Eight Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This was ok. I added a LOT of spices to it because it was way too bland. I added garlic powder, salt, lemon pepper, oregano, and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This was really good! I used stew meat and browned it a little bit first. I also added a can of beef broth and a packet of onion soup mix on other reviewer's advice. I also threw in some pearl onions for more flavor. Very easy, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Great recipe! So simple. I had left over beef chunks from dinner the night before so I cubed them and added onion soup mix along with some Sazon packets and garlic. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I only thought this was okay but DH and Granpa just raved about how good it was so I guess its a keeper. I used canned mixed veggies (all I had on hand), added some shredded cabbage (had an enormous head to get rid of), used some garlic and additional salt and pepper. It froze really well as I made it last week they ate it this week for dinner and I had some leftovers today for lunch. I will probably make this again since it is so easy to throw together and freezes so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I can't say I liked it. I started out with the recipe as is... but it lacks seasoning! It is what it is, a quick substitute for vegetable beef soup. I tried to save it with the onion soup mix, but that wasn't enough. I ended up adding thyme, oregano and basil, and it was edible. I'm going back to a broth based soup, sorry guys---- and ground beef in a soup? Noooooooooo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattawan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Maybe I will try suggestion of adding onion soup mix. Pros: Quick, easy, inexpensive. Cons: tasted flat, needed oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This was great! And very simple. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Quick & easy--add onion soup & garlic-- a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I have been using this simple recipe for years. It's a great way to get kiddos to eat their veggies! You can make this in a slow cooker. Just saute some onion and garlic in a skillet then add lean ground beef and brown. Drain beef and transfer it to the slow cooker. Add frozen veggies and V-8. I usually use part beef stock to replace half of V-8 as it can be quite sour otherwise. Often times I'll chop up cabbage (fine) and throw that in with the veggies as well. (YUM!) Bay leaves and some added herbs (your preference) will add some flavor. Cook in crock pot on low for 7 hours or high for 3 to 4 hours. Enjoy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermitage, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I love how easy this is and it's delish. I added some garlic salt, potatoes, and a packet of dry onion soup. The recipe makes ALOT! Perhaps next time I'll add macaroni. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States